We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fresh, delicious seafood!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point Loma Seafoods

Point Loma Seafoods
Ranked #48 of 4,608 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our first visit to this restaurant was a wonderful experience. This is a very casual place. You place your order in the market area, pay, find a seat and your food is brought to you. We had the fish, shrimp and crab cake plates which were wonderful. The fried shrimp was large, moist and perfectly fried with a very light batter. The fish was the same and the crabcakes equally good. The slaw was pleasingly a little different. We sat on the upper deck overlooking a marina area. There is an elevator if you need it. Fishing boats were coming and going and there were sea lions swimming around, too. We were there on a Saturday for lunch but had no trouble parking in the adjoining pay lot. If you take your parking ticket into the restaurant you get $1 off your meal as I remember. The market area had all sorts of fresh and smoked seafood. A great place for fresh, delious seafood!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    287
    120
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fish Taquitos!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is my favorite place to get fish taquitos or calamari sandwich. The bread is great. Very casual place with great fish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious and cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Well, cheap as far a seafood and seafood in San Diego goes. This place is not a restaurant but a seafood counter where you buy fresh seafood and they also sell AMAZING food. You go in, place your order pay for your food and then find a nice picnic table outside. There are a bunch of picnic tables right out front but if you go more towards the back there are 3 benches that are nice an private.

Great place to take the kids since they can run around a play.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeenieAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Super fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

While visiting San Diego and staying in the Point Loma area, we wanted to have some good seafood. TripAdvisor informed us of Point Loma Seafoods in the area. This place was not what we were expecting because it's a restaurant as well as a shop to buy fresh fish and seafood. Both my husband and I ordered the fish and chips and they were delicious. You could tell the fish was super fresh. I wish I lived here because I think I would buy fresh seafood here everyday. We went at night, but during the day I'm sure there are nice views from the deck.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shell9163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great stop after Cabrillo National Monument”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a great time at Cabrillo National Monument and asked someone for a place to stop for lunch on our way back to San Diego. They recommended Point Loma Seafoods which was an easy drive from Cabrillo. When we pulled up, we almost left The parking lot was full and we really didn't want to wait to eat. Fortunately we found street parking just a few block away. The place was packed!! We didn't know it was self-service, but that was fine and simply added to the character of the place. We got in line, grabbed a seat outside watching the beautiful boats in the bay and our number was promptly called. The fish fry was great and we really enjoyed the beautiful outside setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Loma Seafoods also viewed

 

Been to Point Loma Seafoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing