We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SanDiego bay”
Review of Nick's At the Beach - CLOSED

Nick's At the Beach
Price range: $30 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Cross street: Mission Blvd.
Transit: There is a bus stop directly across the street from us on Mission Blvd.
buckeye
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SanDiego bay”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very nice atmosphere and helpful wait staff, Dine inside or out , either way great food. Would return for sure

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good find when no one can agree on where to eat!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had had a big day driving from Anaheim and spending the day at Seaworld. We hoped to find a restaurant on Mission Beach where our hotel was but they looked either too expensive or too rowdy. After a bit of a melt down by boys 10 and 14 we saw Nick's. It was nice and quiet and had an extensive menu that everyone was happy with. We decided to order food we had never eaten before for something fun to do and our waiter was very helpful. The portions are huge and we weren't disappointed with our choices. The area felt safe enough to walk around and back to our hotel along the beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Much nicer than it looks”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

From the outside this restaurant doesn't look like much but inside it is perfectly nice and the food was lovely. There is a nice variety and the starter portions are big so might be worth eating these first before ordering your mains!
There was a good variety of options and the soft drinks offer free refills. Be careful with the beers though because these can be quite pricey - 2 Stellas were $16 dollars!
The waitress was very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheekyface27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

It had been a long, stressful day and by the time my friend and I checked into our hotel - and we were starving. It was about 8 pm on a Thursday and we were cruising Pacific Beach looking for a decent place to eat that wasn't too crowded and had parking. Nick's fit the bill and we went in. The guy who waited on us was priceless - so incredibly friendly and helpful. He helped us relax and was fine that we didn't each want a big meal. So I had salad and we split the sliders - both were awesome. It was just what we needed at the time and I would eat there again anytime.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great chowder!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ate here our last night of vacation - the food was excellent and our waiter was perfect! Had grandchildren with us so couldn't go to second floor (bar with a view?) but food was fresh and service was fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Georgia720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's At the Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing