We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the food and service!”

Lorna's Italian Kitchen
Ranked #663 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
259 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“loved the food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

this is the favorite of our friends who live there and we were so lucky they took us to enjoy it...loved the old world atmosphere, the yummy food and the great wait staff. would definitely go back!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inventive, Attentive Cuisine...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Who would have thought this tiny, unassuming bistro would offer truly creative offerings..rivaling the best of the master chefs...but yes! Charmingly decorated, you first encounter a daily special chalkboard which combined fresh fish, pastas done uniquely, plus a salad choice abundant in fresh fruits and nuts..very fairly priced. I ordered a meatball appetizer, and was delivered a delicious dish with the meatball the size of a tennis ball..in a wonderful homemade sauce for under $5. Wine was affordable,and served old world Italian style, in thick goblet style glasses...just like those I found in homes headed by an Italian Grandma serving her home brew. One of our entrees, however,was a bit too ambitious, with the addition of rosemary to the sauce on a salmon special...a bit overwhelming. On balance a surprisingly special find!

Helpful?
Thank Junecat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Looking up Italian restaurants on the GPS. Stumbled upon this one quite by chance. Oh my yum!!! Great service. Wonderful, varied menu Food A+. Servings generous. A large pizza is a large pizza. The best manacotti our vegetarian daughter has had.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Even better than we remembered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

This use to be one of our favorite restaurants when we lived in San Diego over 10 years ago. Wow....the food and atmospere is still great. You have to try the tag bol and rosemary chicken. The chopped antipasta salad is the best we have ever had and still is. Wish we had a Lorna's in Florida!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank lcostin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“OK food though not out of the ordinary. Huge portions.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

This place is a favorite of many people. It's convenient, serves an area that has few restaurants, and has pleasant service. The atmosphere is about what you'd expect for a strip mall restaurant. Not bad, but you are aware you're sitting next to a huge parking lot with an ice cream parlor next door.

The food is consistently fine. There's little that's unusual or that will surprise your palate. It's the usual American riff on Italian food, which is to say that the food is over-sauced and 'delicately flavored' is not part of the vocabulary.

The main draw seems to be the combination of consistency and gigantic portions. If one defines 'value' as portion size--or calories--per dollar, then the value is great.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZenTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lorna's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Lorna's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing