We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a gimmick” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kansas City Barbeque

Kansas City Barbeque
Ranked #394 of 4,699 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's a gimmick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I visited the place while at a conferenc, its across the street from the Hyatt. I agree not the best food and a little over done with the advertising of top gun, but a fun place. Bartender is entertaining and researchs his own trivial pursuit game.he got everyone in the bar to play.It's a gimmick just enjoy it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank floridalovers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    231
    213
    81
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This place seems to be a 'locals' place that totally accepts out-of-towners.

I didn't eat but the service (Mark) is fun and the atmosphere is pretty cool as well.

Nice place to just hang out and meet people and/or relax.

Helpful?
2 Thank VegasJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Don't remember it being so dumpy in the movie!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We went there because of the top gun connection. From memory thought it was bigger in the movie. They state it is " the sleazy bar" but I think it should be " the dumper bar". If it was not for Top Gun you would not darken their doorstep. We stopped for happy hour after the Midway Tour. Had the 2 dollar beer and onion rings. The rings were brutal! Beer was fine. Don' t think I would eat an actual meal here. Haven't really kept up the iconic piano and jukebox. Seems like the owners just gave up on the movie tie in. Could do a better job attracting potential customers. The work has been done in so far as tour guides mentioning the history of the location. Now just work on the food and drink. As it stands now drop in , take a picture and leave!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onegameatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look at the memorabilia but Don't eat here..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We thought this little "hole" in the wall would have some good BBQ as the other resturants in this area are amazing! We were sadly disappointed. The ribs were dry & tough, the beef was also dry & tough. Corn on the cob was overcooked and starchy. Cole Slaw was bland & tasteless. The top gun stuff was cool. Our tabletop was a red plastic table cloth and was sticky/greasy. I think the only way they survive is that their bar takes up 3/4 of the room and the drinkers were very loud. Would not reccommend eating here. Would not go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryrc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I don't eat meat so don't come for the food, just the beer and great atmosphere! We spend a lot of time here every time we're in town, great staff and atmosphere, and we've made a lot of friends here! Just don't drink too much of their Nighttrain, deadly stuff :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Kansas City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing