We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't remember it being so dumpy in the movie!”

Kansas City Barbeque
Ranked #449 of 4,744 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Don't remember it being so dumpy in the movie!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We went there because of the top gun connection. From memory thought it was bigger in the movie. They state it is " the sleazy bar" but I think it should be " the dumper bar". If it was not for Top Gun you would not darken their doorstep. We stopped for happy hour after the Midway Tour. Had the 2 dollar beer and onion rings. The rings were brutal! Beer was fine. Don' t think I would eat an actual meal here. Haven't really kept up the iconic piano and jukebox. Seems like the owners just gave up on the movie tie in. Could do a better job attracting potential customers. The work has been done in so far as tour guides mentioning the history of the location. Now just work on the food and drink. As it stands now drop in , take a picture and leave!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onegameatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    236
    220
    84
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Look at the memorabilia but Don't eat here..”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We thought this little "hole" in the wall would have some good BBQ as the other resturants in this area are amazing! We were sadly disappointed. The ribs were dry & tough, the beef was also dry & tough. Corn on the cob was overcooked and starchy. Cole Slaw was bland & tasteless. The top gun stuff was cool. Our tabletop was a red plastic table cloth and was sticky/greasy. I think the only way they survive is that their bar takes up 3/4 of the room and the drinkers were very loud. Would not reccommend eating here. Would not go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryrc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun bar!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I don't eat meat so don't come for the food, just the beer and great atmosphere! We spend a lot of time here every time we're in town, great staff and atmosphere, and we've made a lot of friends here! Just don't drink too much of their Nighttrain, deadly stuff :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The ribs -mmmmm”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to this on a friends recommendation. Not disappointed; a fun place and a bit wacky - plastic plates and cutlery and a roll of kitchen towel to clear up the inevitable mess you get in! Ribs very good and decent beer.

Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good fun - worth a visit”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We ate here at lunch time and it is a good place for an informal lunch and a drink. We sat at the bar and the staff and regulars were very friendly. The place is not much to look at from the outside but inside it is full of quirky things to look at - mainly military or film memorabilia.

The food was good and at a reasonable price.

If visiting make sure you eat inside to get the full experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kansas City Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Kansas City Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing