We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Fish Cantina Grill

Fat Fish Cantina Grill
Ranked #74 of 4,698 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Cross street: Garnet
Transit: There are numerous bus routes to our restaurant.
Description: Fat Fish Cantinagrill combines Southern California cooking trends and the flavor-driven culinary style of our neighbors to the South. We are an eatery that's motivated to be a leader in affordable dining at the beach, inspired by seasonal harvests from the freshest Pacific seafood & California farm lands, with prime aged beef and local fresh poultry. Our space can accommodate a wide range of events and party sizes. Let us plan your next gathering and we will carefully select the perfect menu items to accomodate your friend, family, and business occasions.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Found the Fat Fish while looking along Mission Blvd for a Mexican restaurant to accommodate
our family the following evening. Decided to have lunch here. Well, the Starter lettuce carnitas wrap was both plentiful and delicious, and only $6.95. Ditto the Caesar Steak Salad at $ 9.95.And the atmosphere was low-key, the staff very helpful. So, the next night nine of us (5 adults, 4 children under the age of 8), descended upon Fat Fish. We loved the mushrooms stuffed with lobster, the Lobster bisque, the Seafood Combo, the Carne Fajitas. Our server, Morgan, treated us well. Our only regret is that there isn't a Fat Fish where we all live (Seattle, Greensboro)!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank higham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    163
    52
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lobster Bisque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Good Mexican food. Great wait staff. The dining room was very cold though, we were looking for a place to warm up on a cold rainy night. GUYS, THE LOBSTER BISQUE IS OUT OF THIS WORLD!!! You have to try it!!! I think that's all I will order next time, it is served with some flaky type beead baked on top of the dish. Amazing!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch break by the beach: good food and margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fat fish cantina is the perfect casual place for lunch, happy hour or dinner. Food is good and fairly priced, service is friendly. Perfect spot for family or friends. Just show up in your flip flops and shorts and enjoy a margarita on their outdoor patio. I recommend their HUGE fish burritos. Valet parking is available in the evening. This restaurant is one of the best in Pacific Beach.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iamstarving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The food was very good. The service was also very good. I like the layout of the restaurant as part of it was inside and part outside. The rustic decor was cool. There was a spanish speaking family that was eating next to us and they were very entertaining as they were similar to an Italian family, loud, outspoken and funny, it was awesome.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cndn_traveller_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay for Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Order the lettuce wrap appetizer - that was good. The tacos were "okay" - nothing spectacular. My husband ordered the ahi appetizer - said it was just "okay" and he had the Sea Bass (recommended) for dinner - it was watery (frozen) and had way too much "stuff" on top of the fish. A case of too many ingredients ruins a dish! Too bad - it sounded great on paper.... but, the food was not the best. If you just go for drinks and appetizers, you should have a great time. Just skip dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TracyLPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Fish Cantina Grill also viewed

 

Been to Fat Fish Cantina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing