We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, excellent service”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
French Market Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
French Market Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,161 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pomerad Road
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
411 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“great food, excellent service”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Attending a funeral/memorial in Rancho Bernardo and booked a table at the French Market Grille. One of our family members is blind and very hard of hearing-he can't hear anything if the ambient noise is very loud. I requested a table away from other noise and the restaurant staff was very accommodating even to reducing the volume of their music and placing us away from other guests. The food was very well prepared and there was a great selection. The wine list was also super. We all felt that the service was over the top, and that the food was some of the finest. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Time to take French off the marquee”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having enjoyed delicious French food here for over a decade and previously reviewed this restaurant very favorably, time has come to take notice of the changes the French Market Grill has undergone. Still owned by its French founder, his restaurant now serves anything but French food.

Successive kitchen staff changes over the past eighteen months have set the kitchen adrift. On several recent visits we ordered old stand-by main courses, on the menu for eons and deliciously prepared in the past only to be disappointed each time. What was served bore no resemblance with what we enjoyed over the years. While salad and desserts remained somewhat the same in taste and quality, the main courses are best described as Nouveau California Cuisine. It may well please some, but certainly not those visiting the French Market Grille for some French food. There is nothing French left but the owner who makes an occasional showing, just long enough to berate an employee loudly over some issue, embarrassing the employee and nearby diners.
Sadly for us lovers of French food, we will no longer be regulars at this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A delightful lunch with a special friend. It is one of our favorite restaurants and we have never been disappointed. I had the scallops and they were excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grock60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
678 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“I think this will be our last visit”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were this this weekend for a birthday dinner for my Dad. It is his favorite place. We have eaten there a number of times. But this time, service was so off base we were disappointed.
I had the fabulous liver and onions. My wife had the scallops, and the were great. So, you know the food is excellent. But the service. Man o Man. One server, a man was excellent, but the women acted like we were an intrusion on their evening. The final oops came when my Dad asked for a coffee refill and it came cold. We didn't complain, just ended the evening.
The pricing on the TA listing is 10-30. I don't remember anything being a 10.00 item. Maybe a salad? It usually runs us about 100.00 per person with the tip. If i can encourage Dad to choose another place next time, I will.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delightful French food, always reliable”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been to this well run French restaurant a number of times and the food is always good. Its one of those places where we may bring an out of town guest or when we want to treat ourselves to a special dinner. It's located in a small strip mall, but once you get inside you not aware of the outside. The restaurant is nicely appointed and has the feel of a good French restaurant. It is not inexpensive, but it is reasonably priced for what they offer; most entrees between $20 and $27, most starters, $7 to $10. The food is well presented and tasty. We went with another couple and had salads and the onion soup for starters, not overly generous, but about the right size. The onion soup had the right amount of cheese. Sometimes you get so much cheese you can't eat anything else. For entrees we had scallops, sea bass, duck and chicken. All with good size portions, interesting preparation and tasty. Desserts were typical French fare, although they were out of three of them. We split bananas Foster and blueberry cassis, tasty and big enough to split. If you go make a reservation, even during the week. We were there on a Wednesday night and they were busy. Service could have been a little bit better, but again they were busy and the service was adequate.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandiegoeater749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market Grille also viewed

 

Been to French Market Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing