We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, long wait”

Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Ranked #47 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Heber, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good pizza, long wait”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The place is small and crowded. You wait in line for a while. The pizza was good and the server was pretty fast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 32332Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    415
    149
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We always meet our San Diego family here before we travel, love the food, fun but crowded atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sharronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

It may be a tad expensive and with a waiting time but it's worth it. The service is quite friendly (it can get a little too friendly if you're easily offended with jokes). And it has a little store in case you want to take some rare Italian ingredients.

Helpful?
Thank EmMorningstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Italian food ever! Worth the wait!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We were here over the 4th and went for dinner. We stood in the line that went outside the building that winded through their grocery store to the Restaurant. We stood in line for 30 minutes but it was well worth the wait. We had the pizza (best pizza I've ever eaten) Lasagna, salad and wine. Huge portions for reasonable money! We loved it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bellaluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Little Italy”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Don't let the store in front of the restaurant scare you away. The line was out the door when we went. Also, do not let the long line scare you, the restaurant is bigger than you think and the line moves pretty quickly. Plus the Italian market store is fun to browse while you wait. Nicely sized portions, more than enough to share and prices that will not break the vacation bank. A great atmosphere, kid friendly. So glad we decided to eat here during our visit through little Italy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nixontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippi's Pizza Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Filippi's Pizza Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing