We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere.”

Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Ranked #46 of 4,724 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
midlands uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

After a long day and jet lag, we were looking for a take away or something quick, but noticed a long line waiting to get into this place. Quick check up on TA and a recommendation from a local standing next to us and we decided to go for it. Obviously extremely popular.
Not disappointed. Entered through the crammed deli, which had loads of interesting things to look at. We only waited about 10 mins before being seated.
My how those guys can turn out the food! It was fun watching in there.
More American than Italian Pizza.....huge thick pizzas of enormous size rather than the thin Italian wood fired ones.
We elected for pasta. Husband had Lasagne with meatball and sausage. What actually arrived was a huge portion of pasta layered with cheese sauce, a meatball the size of a tennis ball, and a huge sausage. All smothered with Italian tomato sauce. Very tasty, and he actually couldn't manage it all.
I had Linguine with clams, in white sauce which was excellent. Tinned clams, but loads of them, and my body weight in garlic.
Gourmet or fine cuisine it wasn't. Nor a place for a quiet meal. But for bustling atmosphere, taste, huge portions of good filling food it was excellent. Very good service also.
We were not disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canongirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    408
    144
    47
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was being a bit of a bear on the day we ate at this restaurant. I had nixed 3 restaurants before deciding on this one. This was actually us driving to and from each location and we got to see parts of San Diego that we don't normally see. This restaurant is in Little Italy. They have a parking lot, but good luck with that. There are various other pay lots around the area allowing you to walk to the restaurant. Good luck with that as well. It's definitely in desperate need of parking, but what can really be done? The restaurant is accessed by way of the shop. Our wait time was approx. 1 hour. Standing room only. Most likely in single file allowing those vacating the restaurant room to actually vacate the restaurant. Upon reaching the hostess station the young woman, don't recall name, was very friendly. She said that this crowd was typical for the weekend. Impressive. Once entering the restaurant it was cozy. The smells were torturous after the wait. At last the table. The prices are beyond reasonable. I was pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious...pizza. I definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chesha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best eats in Little Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We visit Filippis in Little Italy everytime we go to San Diego, and it's money well spent! You go through their original Italian Market (from 60 years ago) to get to the restaurant inside, where the food is just like Grandma's home-made Italian, and the prices are ridiculous - in the best possible way! Lots of great food with great value. All the locals know it's worth waiting in line for!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Kind of hidden behind the market, doesn't look like anything special, but let me tell you....the pizza is amazing. This place was hopping too. We sat close to the kitchen so we could see everything being handmade. Highly recommend!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank imahulahottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Italian dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Loved the combo plate, hot bread, and atmosphere. Neat how you pass through a store to get to the restaurant.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippi's Pizza Grotto also viewed

 

Been to Filippi's Pizza Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing