We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Italian pizza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Filippi's Pizza Grotto

Filippi's Pizza Grotto
Ranked #40 of 4,699 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good Italian pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

There are several Filippi's in San Diego. This reviewer specifically recommends the one on India Street. The non-chain type crust is a key part, with a good sauce on top with melted cheese. The lasagna is also a good option for those rare visits when someone in the group prefers other food. This pleasant, relaxing restaurant also serves sandwiches and pasta dishes. It's a sit down restaurant, not fast food. Sometimes the crust is cooked in the oven more than I like it,if so the waitress is willing to listen to what you prefer. If Stephanie is your waitress, you've got winner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerrySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    398
    139
    46
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I always make a point of eating at Filippi's when in San Diego. The food is consistently very good and the portions are enough for 2. I am a huge fan of the lasagna with meat sauce. Took a party of 4 there tonight and everyone was well pleased with their meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My boyfriend and visited this restaurant based on reviews on TA. LOVED, loved, loved this place. You have to walk through a little store to get to the restaurant. Old school, burgundy carpet, dark wood table, red checker tablecoths. We order the pizza, which was DElicious. Others around us ordered pasta, which was delivered in huge servings.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizweigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Filippi's Original”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have been dining at Filippi's PIzza Grotto in Little Italy for six decades. I first dined there when there were just a half dozen tables and the deli. I was just a child and the taste of the pizza has brought me back over and over again. The line out the door tells you that they have quite a reputation in the community. Pizza comes in many varieties and this pizza features a thick doughy crust with cheese that has a delicious pronounced provolone flavor which we prefer to those pizzas that feature only mozzarella. Filippi's pepperoni is really memorable and my personal favorite. My kids love the cheese ravioli and my wife favors the lasagna. We always start our meal with an antipasto salad. You will truly enjoy the food and the atmosphere at Filippi's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Gives Italian food a bad name”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This place is crazy.
There is always a line, usually going outside the door, suggesting that it is something not to be missed.
I convinced our group to try it. Even our concierge mentioned it and I thought there has got to be something here we need to try. Depsite the fact that the little deli at the entrance was filthy, I went against my better judgement and I was soo wrong to do so.
The only thing Italian was the inexpensive Lambrusco wine, which at least gave us a sense of humor to deal with the situation at hand.
The lasagna was bland and so rubbery. I had to take minuscule bites just to avoid choking on the (poor quality) cheese. Ditto for the pizza.
I didn't expect this place to offer refined italian cuisine, but come on, this isn't even Italian American food. I think we were served on plastic dishes and my kids who are used to real Italian food weren't quite sure what to make of this place.
After one slice of pizza you are set for a week- way tooo heavy.
I can't believe the place manages to stay packed. Sad to think that people actually eat this way.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LLELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Filippi's Pizza Grotto also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Filippi's Pizza Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing