We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dublin Square Pub

Dublin Square Pub
Ranked #609 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Dublin Square Irish Pub & Grill doesn't just look like a piece of Ireland-it actually is a piece of Ireland. Before getting shipped across the Atlantic Ocean to its home in the Gaslamp Quarter, the pub was manufactured on the island by O'Sullivan Interiors. What's more, it's based on an authentic pub whose roots stretch back to the early 1700s. Guests can experience this homage by sidling up to the Irish oak bar, or toasting themselves next to the cast-iron fireplace in the Victorian Lounge. Of course, the food and drink are likewise Irish-inspired: beer-battered fish and chips, Guinness-braised beef, and an Irish lamb stew loaded with potatoes, onions, carrots, and fresh Colorado lamb. On certain nights, the pub buzzes with trivia competitions, karaoke performances, and sets from live bands. Join us for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Desserts!
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Cold beer, good service, yummy snacks, and very cool crowd of people. They have beer that is not normally found at a main stream bar (like boddgintons) and Smithwicks. It is very close to a true Irish experience

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dinkeedrawers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    62
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly place for a nice lunch”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We arrived early Christmas afternoon and was looking for a place to eat. We walked around for a few blocks with everything closed until we came to the Pub. The place was packed with only 3 servers which included the bartender. Yes, we had to wait a bit for our order but you can tell that the waitresses were working hard to keep a smile on their faces even though they were shorthanded for the holiday. It was pretty obvious that the place was shorthanded for Christmas, yet other parties were rude and full of complaints. They were lucky that anyone was open! Our family of 4 had the Scotch Eggs, Paddy's Pub Club, Tynan's Beef Boxty, Shephard's Pie and a salad. All were excellent. We were glad we found the Pub and despite everything, enjoyed a great meal. Kudos to the wait staff for keeping things going on a tough day. They get 5 stars just for that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vitidemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I usually avoid Irish pubs in holidays since I'm Irish myself but I was in the need for some magners so I ended up here. u have to sit at the bar if ure not eating, which is annoying as they leave the door open all night! Can be cold, even colder when u drink. This happens everywhere in this city though. Average prices and bar service ok. Tipping goes largely unappreciated so I wudnt bother! It's a nice place though, food looked nice too even though we didn't eat.

Helpful?
Thank JayneyMcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

First visit and I must say the atmosphere and beer was awesome. Beer tasted so fresh and the pub was very clean and well managed. Must try the onion rings. Will go back next time in San Diego!!!

Helpful?
Thank bfm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arab, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great eats!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Had a little time to kill on a weekday morning in San Diego near the convention center and stopped in here for some breakfast. They advertise a full "Irish Breakfast" that sounded terrific. It wasnt exactly a bargain, but this was some serious eating! Eggs, potatos, bacon, black and white pudding and some of the best toasted Irish soda bread I've had in years! All in a really charming little place. Great decor and very friendly staff. All in all, I'd gladly stop by again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mum-and-Poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Square Pub also viewed

 

Been to Dublin Square Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing