We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers?”
Review of Dick's Last Resort - CLOSED

Dick's Last Resort
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: J street and K Street
Transit: San Diego Trolley - Convention Center / Gaslamp
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Burgers?”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Took my son to San Diego to take in a Padre's Game for his 21st birthday. We went to Dick's to get a burger and brew. The bartender told us no BURGERS after 2pm, really!?! The bartender was real nice and said she was sorry. Had a beer and left and will not be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padrechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    131
    99
    32
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is no normal bar :)”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

this bar is so funny
it dose every thing it should not do
and you will end up having a paper hat on from the waitress
of what she thinks of you
on it.
this place is a must for a creaming night out

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank petebaxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northridge, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“insults are on the house”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place is not for those who get offended easily, if your looking for a watering hole where you can have a good time with your friends and the staff and drop the f word every other sentence then you have found your next happy hour spot. They make absurd chef hats with funny comments and place them on your head. The staff really get into character...sometime i think they really are [--]. Food is ok and drinks are moderately prices, but most people come for the fun. Great place to go with friends....oh if you have friends who turn into fight club when they get drunk, do not i repeat DO NOT bring them here. San Diego's Finest is right out side the door.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJAYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dick's Last Resort”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had a birthday for my daughter and she had a great experience. The food was good, it is noisy but it fits the environment.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food with a Sarcastic Flare”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my first trip to San Diego and had heard great things about Dick's. Expecting sarcastic interactions, and rude white paper hats, with the staff and was disappointed. Started out great with hostess and initially with our waiter, but very little interaction with our waiter after our initial order. Never offered refills on drink and had to flag down the guy to get our check. Dropped the check then disappeared again. Food and drink were tasty and well worth the money spent, but general service was lacking. And definitely not the rudeness/sarcasm we expected, at least from our waiter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Last Resort also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing