We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK, low-end atmosphere”
Review of Dick's Last Resort - CLOSED

Dick's Last Resort
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: J street and K Street
Transit: San Diego Trolley - Convention Center / Gaslamp
LAS CRUCES
Level Contributor
679 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Food OK, low-end atmosphere”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place looks like something for the down-and-out traveler, but the prices are not low, just average. There is outside seating, as well as inside seating. The "decor" is sort of "odds and ends", with chairs not necessarily matching. The music may appeal to younger people. The food is average. One can get sandwiches and salads. A lot of it is fried, definitely not the most healthy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    130
    99
    32
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great fun night”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We didn't eat here, we came in here for one drink, but stayed for many more! . We had a good fun night here with Britney, who looked after us and insulted us par excellence. Initially, we didn't realise that they specialised in off beat humour. They had a great selection of beers . The place was quiet on the night. But they looked after 2 business men with food when the kitchens had closed up.
If we are ever back in San Diego again, we will definitely be back for one drink or more.

Helpful?
1 Thank RedLirac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun Times!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've been here a few times - just can't get abused enough, I guess. This place is a riot. The servers make the fun. Their sarcastic banter with the customers usually leads to one or more customers with hats on that the server has written some insult on. For example, one said, "I'm still hot, it just comes in flashes now." It's all good-natured ribbing and they can take it as well as give it. The food is as good as any other bar/restaurant in the Gaslamp District. If you're up for a raucous time and not too sensitive, you'll love it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“average at best”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

food is ok, nothing to write home about. i think it is for people from out of town. make sure you have a credit card with you. there are better places that cost less around there.

Helpful?
Thank 1baggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fun place for a beer”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a fun place for a beer. High noise level and the waiter seemed to be overwhelmed thus the service was a little slow, took awhile for the check but the food was good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dick's Last Resort also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing