We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 222

Cafe 222
Ranked #2 of 226 Coffee & Tea in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Cafe 222 has been the local dining institution for nearly 25 years in San Diego. This quirky-corner eatery has become famous from it's many appearances on the Food Network and for the owner who from time-to-time can be found wearing a waffle on her head. This shoebox-size of a restaurant has plenty of seating, offers indoor, street side patio dining as well as an upper garden patio area. Dogs and kids are welcome with well-behaved parents. Reservations are not accepted but if there is a wait to get in, it moves quickly and the staff passes out banana bread and coffee to those in line to make the wait more pleasant.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Cafe 222 is a great spot for breakfast in San Diego. Located right in the heart of the Gaslamp, it's easy to get to. I got the Peanut Butter and Banana French Toast, and my wife got the Strawberry Waffle. This wasn't the best breakfast I've ever had, but it was really good. It's reasonable priced, and you get a good sized portion. The service is fantastic. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    192
    60
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ate here twice while in San Diego for meetings - easy walk from the Hyatt and convention center. Had a fresh spin on breakfast classics. The blueberry cornmeal waffle was out of this world, my friend had the peanut butter and banana French toast which was wonderful. We also tried the biscuit and gravy as well as the eggs Italia - nothing was disappointing and after spying on other diners' food I am confident I could have eaten here several more times and found equally good food!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jknd02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty, friendly, attractive and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went here for breakfast before a long day of meetings. The yummy, hearty food kept me going until dinner. My favorite was the blueberry cornmeal waffle--so light and crisp. I enjoyed the potatoes a lot, too, and the Texas toast style rye bread. Bonus points for being cleaner and more visually appealing than most casual/inexpensive breakfast spots.

Helpful?
Thank bpbpc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on our first morning in San Diego. We had to wait for about 15 minutes to get a table, but once seated service was quick and friendly. Seems to be popular with both locals and tourists!

Sausage and potatoes was very tasty and portion size wasn't too crazy, unusual based on some other places we ate! Blueberry pancakes were really good and filling. Prices pretty reasonable too.

Helpful?
Thank LovelyDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cute Little Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friend ate several horrible omeletes our entire stay in San Diego this by far was her favorite. I only had a waffle. This is a cute little place right by the convention center. I believe their only open for breakfast and lunch. Very little inside!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillPwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 222 also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Cafe 222? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing