We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good smoked BBQ ... for outside of Texas...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey's Bar-B-Q

Abbey's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #3,013 of 4,647 Restaurants in San Diego
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good smoked BBQ ... for outside of Texas...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After being in Texas for a few weeks, and sampling the best, I was not expecting anything comparable in San Diego. Don't get me wrong, this place was good.. but just Average by Texas Standards.

The side dishes certainly WERE good, just fine by any standard. I had Brisket and it looked smoked a bit but didn't quite have the black/red layering found when meats are actually cooked via a Smoker Style BBQ.

The Staff was friendly, prices not bad .. Brisket+1 Side + Drink was $10.00 .. sweet tea was very good. Overall I will go here again for sure, best in the area, as good as it gets outside the borders of the Lone Star State!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Booogiemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I like going to this place for the pork sandwich, which is pretty good. The service is not very good and it's been closed a couple of times I went. The ribs don't look very good, but I haven't tried them.
I give this place three starts for the inconsistency and service. The sandwich, coleslaw and fries are typically good.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Daniella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stumbled on Abbeys but it was a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to eat one afternoon and noticed Abbeys. My husband and I love BBQ so we decided to stop. The food was amazing! We shared the 3 meat deal with 2 sides. We had pork ribs, brisket, and pulled pork. We think the ribs are the best. We had fries and onion rings as sides. The sides weren't anything to talk about, but they were still good. We have already been back 2 times in 2 weeks and we live 25 minutes away. The cornbread is another shining star here also. It's like a piece of moist cake. Haven't tried the fried cornbread but they say it's good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaelshoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Kearny Mesa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

A friend took me for lunch. What a pleasant surprise. I watched them preparing some of the different meats offered. All looked tasty. I settled on the brisket sandwich. The meat was lean and tender. The sandwich was pretty big. I chose fries for my side. (Could have been a few more fries on the plate). Warm bbq sauce was brought to the table. Cost was reasonable for the quality of the food.
I would go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petest50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, NC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Small but very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Abbey's is in a small stip Mall and is hard to see from the main road. The GPS took me there for lunch and I had to kiss it when I left. I had a hard time deciding since the menue sounded so good. I ordered a dish with Brisket, pulled pork beans and rice. Very good, more than I could eat and at a reasonable price. Won't be the last time I come here on my visits to San Diego.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clloydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Abbey's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing