We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Italian, good service”

Acqua Al 2 Ristorante
Ranked #818 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: J Street and K Street
Description: phone (619) 230-0382fax (619) 230-0647
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent Italian, good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My Wife and I went for Dinner on a Saturday evening. The Cuisine is Northern Italian. The staff was courteous, and knowledgable about both their food and their wine list. The food was good, well prepared and delivered in a timely manner.

If this seems a bit perfunctory, its because nothing amazed in our dining experience. I wouldn't say 'don't dine here'; but there are so many Italian restaurants in San Diego that out strip Acqua Al 2 in both food quality and experience, I would say, 'you can do better.'

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    61
    33
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Late Lunch was good”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I enjoyed the bread with garbanzo bean spread with olive oil that was brought to the table. It saved me. My husband had Fileno Al Mirtilio, he loved it.
A hand carved fillet mignon topped with a blueberry sauce. We shared insalata caprese. I had frutti Di mare. Very good. I had a couple proseccos and we also had a large pellegrino. We were starving and lethargic. The waiter was patient and service was good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EricocaDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good but not as great as it was”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I went to the restaurant a few years ago and had an outstanding baked pasta dish. My mouth waters when I think of it. So I was really looking forward to trying the place again on my recent trip to San Diego. I was a little less thrilled this time. The pasta itself is excellent and their signature tomato sauce is full of flavor. This time however the dish was light on the mascarpone and heavy on a gelatinous bechamel sauce that clumped up before my eyes as the dish cooled off. I had to scrape it to the side -- it looked really unappetizing. I could barely see any of the porcini mushrooms described in the dish. There are pasta options for vegetarians and usually a fish of the day. The main dishes are heavy on meat. They have wonderful salads, a good wine list and freshly baked bread. My server was very attentive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The place is close to the convention centre. Food was awesome. Had lots of vegetarian options.
The service was excellent.We tried 5 different types of pasta and all were good. They also offer family type servings which is awesome. So everyone gets to taste different flavours.
I would return for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nia573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“busy”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good pasta dishes and carpaccio. The restaurant itself is comfortable but quite busy (not for a romantic dinner). The vino della casa is good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acqua Al 2 Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Acqua Al 2 Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing