We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Stay but don't Overpay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 21, 2006

I don't know what's up with San Diego but it seems that all the hotels in the gaslamp area are charging New York prices. The convention center is very busy with New Orleans convention overflow and any decent place within walking distance of gaslamp is charging about $300/night plus $22 parking. I decided to play Russian roulette with Hotwire and bid a four star gaslamp area hotel for $204/night +taxes (for a Thursday and Friday night stay) I got the Solamar, a new boutique hotel that bills itself as four stars. I’ve read the other reviews here and thought I’d add some comments. The staff was all top notch and I encountered no rude or sub par service as mentioned before. The lobby is well appointed and a nice place to relax and the 4th floor bar is also a nice hangout. The workout room is a joke- the smallest I’ve ever seen with about four pieces of equipment. The pool is also a ridiculous 3’ deep and therefore useless. The hotel is new so the rooms and furnishings are clean. But here is the real point of my review –value. Our room was very, very small –so small that it didn’t have the requisite ‘two chairs and a table by the window set-up’ in case you wanted to invite a guest up to your room. More importantly, the rooms were poorly insulated. Any seasoned traveler knows the awful sound of heavy fireproof hotel doors slamming early in the morning as Business Bob leaves at 6:30AM for a meeting. We could hear next-door conversations and the maid vacuuming at 8:00AM very clearly. All of this does not fit in my definition of a four star hotel. Yes the room was decorated in a funky hip style. But with the room size and noise it felt like the Solamar built regular, small and acoustically sub par rooms and then hired a decorator to do an ‘extreme makeover’ adding drapes, some funky lamps and art. That just doesn’t cut it for their regular $300/night rates. At $204 I felt neither screwed nor did I feel I got any value. If I paid just $5 more a night I might have been pissed. The lobby and bar may look four star but after all I am paying for a room. I’d stay here again but if I had to pay $300 I’d choose the Marriot Gas lamp (NOT the other Marriot monster convention hotel by the water!!) The Marriot Gas lamp may not have a basin type Kohler sink and funky drapes but the standard rooms are big, immaculate, and have an equally unique California Craftsman style about it. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cineart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,027)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Solamar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,922 - 1,928 of 2,030 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
CHicago, IL
12
Reviewed January 10, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2006

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfsteeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aniamanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nortons49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank footdoc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

5  Thank KAZAK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,268 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#43 of 278 in San Diego
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $186 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing