We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the W without the attitude...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
WORCESTER, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Like the W without the attitude...”
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I chose this hotel for a business trip for myself and my boss; we stayed just one night in San Diego, but he & I both love this type of modern hotel. It did not disappoint! Fast easy check-in, super fast valet parking ($32/nt.), great rooms with gorgeous decor and super comfortable beds. Free wireless internet! Really cool bathrooms with Aveda products. First rate all the way. I booked on Kimpton.com and it was $119 a night + $1 for continental breakfast (you can "upgrade" to eggs for $7). I will definitely stay here next time I'm in SD.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDONTTRAVELENUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    600
    167
    89
    41
See reviews for
250
790
100
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We had four adults and one toddler in our party. We had a room with two queen beds and then added a crib and it was a bit cramped. The hotel decor and staff made us completely forget we were crammed into our room. The hotel staff is exceptional. They make you feel like you're someone special from the moment you pull into valet parking. The valet staff is amazing and are willing to go the extra mile for your convenience. We got a good rate for two nights during the week. We didn't dine in the hotel but had drinks at JSix. From our perspective the drinks were very expensive....$12.00 for a glass of wine and you weren't paying for the ambiance. The pool area was really cool and I can see why it would be a popular night spot. Very trendy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Solamar for about four nights. We enjoyed our stay and would return to the hotel. The room was a decent size with decent closet space and nice decor the chaise was a plus. The hotel offered a complimentary tea hour in the morning and wine hour in the evening. The rooftop pool area/lounge was spacious and had heat lamps. The negative part is that parking at the hotel was expensive.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Futureworldtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Visited June 9 with family (two adults and kids 9 and 7). Took advantage of a special rate that included a bottle of wine and breakfast as well. Hotel is a nice one - boutique feel to it. Not large in terms of lobby and meeting areas nor rooms but very comfortable. Highlights include a rooftop pool on 4th floor, 'wine hour', a very nice workout room (Precor etc), comforting polished staff. Location is awesome - gaslamp district, near Petco baseball stadium.. Drug store one block away -- what more can you ask for?? It's geared for both business and leisure -- I hope they can keep it affordable for leisure travelers as it's a treat to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrosbyArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2009

We were able to check in a bit early for our stay with no problems. The front desk staff and concierge were always extremely nice and very helpful. Our room was clean and well-stocked. The location can't be beat - right in the Gaslamp District, easy walking distance to tons of restaurants, shops, bars and the trolley.

The evening wine reception was a nice plus and the dinner we had at the restaurant was top notch to me! The hotel is cool, funky, wonderfully decorated and in nice shape. With the furnishings and music, etc., they definitely cater to a younger crowd. I just wish the weather was better so we could have enjoyed the rooftop pool and lounge. The hotel was not super crowded while we were there so we didn't notice any noise from the bar area, but I can see how it night be bothersome if you were in a room that faced it on a busy night.

I really have nothing but nice things to say about our visit. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, loved it. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorcityc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

My husband and I went to San Diego to meet some friends who live there and to participate in the 2009 Mud Run at Camp Pendleton. I saw all the great reviews of Hotel Solamar on TripAdvisor, so I checked into room rates on various websites, including the hotel's website. The hotel's website had the most expensive room rate and 1800hotels.com had by far the BEST and least expensive rate. I called the hotel's reservation line and they matched the rate that 1800hotels.com was offering. That saved us over $50/night.

We checked right in upon arrival and the front desk staff and valet attendants were very friendly. Our room was on the 7th floor overlooking 6th street. The room was beautifully decorated with modern decor, huge flat screen TV, very comfortable bed with no top comforter - which we LOVED - just triple sheeting and throw pillows that matched the decor of the room. The bathroom was clean, very nice modern fixtures, Aveda amenities and white fluffy towels. The shower head was fabulous - almost like a steam shower with great water pressure. They have FREE in-room Wi-fi! That's a big plus!

They have a wine reception every evening from 5 - 6pm offering a red, white and sangria. We went both nights and enjoyed our wine and good conversation in the 'living room'. Also, each morning they offer a coffee and tea reception until 9:30am. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant, but the pizza samples that we tried during the wine reception were very tasty. We also didn't use the pool, but we did have drinks out by the back area of the pool that overlooked the street.

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. We were close enough to walk to PETCO Park to see a baseball game (just around the corner). There are so many great restaurants, bars and shops within walking district of the hotel. Friday night we enjoyed a meal at Old Spaghetti Factory to carbo load before the 10K race the next morning. Then on Saturday night, we had dinner at one of our favorite restaurants, Sevilla. You can't beat the Sangria and tapas! On Sunday morning, we walked to Mary Jane's Coffee Shop, which is located next to the Hard Rock Hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be going there again on our next trip to San Diego. The only downside is the $32/night valet fee. Being from Vegas, I'm used to free valet parking. There is a $20/day parking lot across the street, but for safety reasons we opted to pay the $32/night fee. So, with the $50/night we 'saved' by getting the 1800hotels.com rate, we ended up using it for parking.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macabee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Solamar. I booked 2 rooms, one for us and one for my in-laws. When we arrived at the hotel we very impressed w/the look and feel of it. We arrived prior to 3:00 check-in but the staff stored our luggage and indicated our rooms should be ready in an hour. No problem as we wanted to get lunch. Sure enough an hour later my cell phone rang and the staff advised our rooms were now ready!! Rooms are beautifully decorated. We had a nice view (8th floor) that looked toward Petco park. Valet staff was always helpful w/recommendations on where to eat and were prompt on retrieving our car. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The location is perfect for walking the Gas Lamp District. We took the San Diego trolley tour and the pick up/stop was only a block from the hotel, which made it very easy. The only thing that may change my opinion is my husband left his flip flops in our room, which we didn't notice until we got home and unpacked. I called and left a message for the head of housekeeping/lost&found. However, 2 days have gone by and I have not received a phone call back...I hope this won't change my opinion of an otherwise great experience and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,047 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelPower, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing