We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for San Diego Nightlife!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location for San Diego Nightlife!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Our group stayed here recently on a trip to Downtown San Diego. The location on 6th Avenue was unbeatable for enjoying San Diego's energetic nightlife, which is mostly centered on nearby 5th Avenue. You don't want to stay right on 5th Avenue, since it does get noisy, especially on weekends. Other Downtown attractions are also close by, including the Midway Museum aboard a retired US aircraft carrier.

Our hotel room was very quiet and quite sizable for a downtown hotel. Beds were comfortable, and the decor was an interesting mix of traditional and modern decor. Hotel has an outdoor heated rooftop pool and a patio, which we enjoyed immensely. Our room had a large flat-screen TV and a fridge. Service was very friendly too. Wifi was available in the room, and it worked flawlessly during our stay. Wifi is complimentary, provided you sign up as Kimpton Hotels Preferred Guest (which was free).

The only drawback (and it was minor) - breakfast is not included in the price. For the price I paid for the room, I would have appreciated a basic breakfast. However, it wasn't a deal-breaker for us, and I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting San Diego.

As a tip a travelers - don't bother with the hotel's parking lot - it is very expensive. I had no problem finding a parking space in a nearby parking lot for a fraction of the price the hotel was asking.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Cbevers... We wanted to thank you so very much for staying here with us at Solamar and for your great 5 star review. I'm thrilled you enjoyed the property and the area so much on your trip. There are certainly many options in the area for some great outdoor adventures. Please come see us again the next time you make it to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    600
    167
    89
    41
See reviews for
250
790
100
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I came down to San Diego with friends the weekend after Thanksgiving. We chose the Solamar because we had recently stayed at a Kimpton in Seattle and really liked the hotel. The check in was quick and easy and they even moved us to a better room on the top floor just for asking. The room was a King and was a very nice size. The bathroom was roomy and had everything you could need. For being a Kimpton in touch member we even got a coupon to Raid the Minibar, which was a nice treat. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did order room service breakfast one morning, the meal was delicious and came so fast. We took the bicycles out on the day we arrived and it was really nice to ride around downtown on the free bikes that the Solamar had. Overall great stay, stay with the Solamar and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: A high floor is nice for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Amazing review Travelme9... thank you so much. I'm glad you got an opportunity to enjoy the bikes and explore the city. There are so many fantastic things to see here in San Diego. I'm glad we had such a positive impact on your trip. Hope to see you again at another Kimpton Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I arranged a private dinner for my fiancee's birthday dinner followed by cocktails on the terrace and a night's stay. Being the owner of two service based businesses I know what it means to provide excellent customer service. It's something that a lot of companies boast about yet very few can actually deliver. Hotel Solamar exceeding my expectations and made for a perfect evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks so much for the amazing 5 star review Teevan!!! Coming from someone like you whose business thrives on great service, it means so to hear such great comments about our service. Thank you again, and thank you for your visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our family loved absolutely everything about this hotel! Most of all, the incredibly helpful, energetic, and fun staff. Every single person we encountered, from the bellmen to the desk people to the housekeepers, was energized, sincere, and friendly above and beyond the call of duty. Everyone made us feel so welcome, and seemed genuinely interested in our stay and how they could make it the best it could be. A special shout out to Katie who walked our dog! Our dog, by the way, also loves this hotel-- everyone was so sweet to her. They are very kind to children as well. The cocktail hour was the best we've encountered in a Kimpton. The location can't be beat. We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hi Jennifer! Thank you so much for such an amazing review of the Hotel. I will certainly share your feedback with the team, as they truly get excited about making such an impact on our guests. I'm happy your visit to Solamar and San Diego was such a great experience.... hope we see you again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this is amazing. Beats the Ritz hands down. The bicycles are the finishing touch! Well done.
Additionally how can you go wrong with a hotel that provides yoga mats and animal print robes!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwboyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
WOW - great review! Thank you so much. You touched on so many of the unique options that Kimpton offers to make our guests experience a great one, and I'm very happy you had such a an awesome stay here at Solamar. We hope to see you back in San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We came for some R&R November 14 & 15 and we achieved! Trish and Trevor were so sweet and amazing! The hotel envelops you with warmth and architecture that is total eye candy!
Our master suite was amazing with its jacuzzi and it was a great start to enjoying our 10yr anniversary! You must visit this hotel..it's close to the bay, the rooftop pool is crazy hot and the restaurant inside exudes relaxation!

Room Tip: Join their In Touch program and ask don't demand
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is Pet friendly, Eco-friendly and LGBT friendly
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntuitiveTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thanks so much for your fantastic review Intuitive Touch. A 5 star review is the best way for my week to start. I'm thrilled you had such a great time during your stay, and reserving a Master Suite was a brilliant idea, as those are my absolute favorite rooms here. Tempe is not too far away, so we hope to see you again when your travels call for San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hotel is located next to the Gaslamp district, plenty of nearby restaurants and convenient for the convention center. The staff are extremely helpful and the rooms clean and well furnished. The air conditioning is efficient and quiet.
Negative points
- the rooms have no drawers for clothes only hanging space
- sound insulation between rooms is not very good - we kept getting woken by a crying baby in the next room
- the bathroom sink is cute and Ikea-ish but not very usable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doug8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear doug8888,

Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the external noise and lack of shelving. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you at Hotel Solamar again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
5,048 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing