We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few things to think about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We loved the location and the room. The staff were friendly, the room was clean and modern if not spacious. There was also 'happy hour' in the foyer which was a good idea.
A few things to think about are that parking at the hotel is 'valet only' and costs an extra $40 per 24 hours. We decided to use this service for the convenience but the thought had not occurred to us until we arrived and it made the per night cost higher than we would normally have considered paying (factor in the tip too). Secondly and perhaps more importantly to an English person that relies on tea to get the blood flowing in the morning, there was no tea/coffee making facility in the room. Although tea/coffee was set up in the lobby for a few hours each morning, I prefer a cup of tea/coffee whenever I want it and certainly before I get dressed to start my day ...thankfully my husband came to the rescue and fetched my tea (probably for self preservation). I remarked on this issue when we checked out and was told that tea/coffee facilities could be placed in the room upon request.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Sharon T,

Thanks for your review! I'm really glad you enjoyed our service, cleanliness, and the happy hour. Parking in the downtown area can be pricy but we find that the service that we provide is in line with other lots in the area. We provide a safe and secure lot with 24 hour in-and-out privileges meaning you can leave and come as you please whereas other lots in the area do not. Also, next time you’re at a Kimpton, just let us know you'd like a coffee/tea maker in the room and we'll make sure it happens! We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 908 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Really enjoyed this Hotel - great location in the heart of the gaslamp quarter. The pool and rooftop bar are great as is the general service in the hotel. The folks on the desk are really helpful - they got us a couple of great restaurants after picking a couple of average places ourselves. Great place for a break.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobble50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Bobble50,

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed our pool and bar and our concierge could point out some great local restaurants. We hope you join us again on your next break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stay here- the service is great, hotel is clean and funky, the drinks are great. They give the kids a pet goldfish for the night, the lobby has a great happy hour every day. They rent bikes, wagons. Seriously- this place is great for families, couples etc.
It's pricey but you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Our room was right on the pool deck but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Rooms at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Sandy F- You're fabulous! Thanks for the great review. We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel and all the extra amenities we have to offer. Happy Holidays and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was a little worried as we hadn't stayed at a Kimpton and I was a little worried about the pet friendly thing but it turned out I worried for nothing! Had a lovely 4 day stay, room was very large and immaculate with a view of PetCo Stadium (from our 8th floor room); large bathroom with tub/shower combo, large closet and plenty of desk space. Super comfortable bed, huge TV, we did have construction on our side of the building but really didn't hear much of it unless I opened the window. Did have barking dogs down the hall the first night when you walked by 'their' room but couldn't hear anything from inside our room. Hotel very convenient to everything downtown and we walked almost everywhere. Parking is steep but we parking in the garage less than 2 blocks away for $15 a night. Use the side door that opens onto J Street (?) for access at all other times as you are likely to get hit going in and out the driveway/garage in the front of the hotel. Front desk 'gals' very helpful if aloof, the dog at the front desk was the best part; check in and check out fast and efficient, bell men/valets very nice and helpful. Flavored water available in the lobby at all times was very refreshing, mini bar fully stocked and mighty tempting with all the goodies with cute names but ALSO no price list! Will definitely be back to stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TracyEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review Tracy! Thank you as well for giving Kimpton Hotels a try. It is great to hear we had such a positive impression on you during your stay here in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Solamar looked to be a trendy hotel with a great location offering exemplary service. Well, the location is good, if you don’t need to park, the rest, not so much. Don’t be fooled when they tell you $40 to park is the going rate. You can park 2 blocks away for $15. We asked the concierge about bikes and buying attraction passes and we were directed to their computer in the lobby to arrange ourselves. For which you pay to use!
Rooms are cheaply furnished and poorly laid out with a walmart shelving unit taking up most of the closet. I will give them credit; the beds are nice. The relaxing complementary glass of wine in the evening is nice, unless there’s a convention in town (which is most of the time). Then it’s bedlam, with a long wait to even get an elevator once it’s over.
All in all a very disappointing stay for me and my family. We still have a couple of days of holiday, but I think I’ll spend some of that time looking for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rathe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Solamar, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hi Rathe, Thank you for staying with us and for your time posting a review. Of course we wish we had made a more positive impact on you during your stay. The Hotel is certainly a busy one as we are located in the heart of Downtown San Diego, close to the Gaslamp Quarter, Petco Park, and the Convention Center... and with the popularity of our evening So Cal hour it certainly can get busy. I am sorry to hear that you were directed to the lobby computer to look up attraction passes and information about bikes, as we have complimentary bikes right here on property for guest use. I will discuss this with the front desk team to ensure we are accommodating future guest requests in a much more helpful way. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in the Solamar for four nights as part of our recent vacation in California. I picked it out because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and because of its excellent position in the lower Gaslamp District, on the corner of 6th Avenue and J Street.
The Solamar is a medium sized hotel in a refurbished building and accordingly, both the entrance to the hotel and the lobby are rather dark. What blew us away was the warm welcome from the check-in staff....they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
Our corner room on the top (10th) floor was bright modern and spacious. No hint of darkness or dreariness in the room itself or the corridor outside.
We haven't stayed in a Kimpton Hotel before so I enrolled as a KimptonInTouch member before we arrived so we could get free wi-fi in the bedroom.
Three other points are worth a mention. Free drinks and nibbles for guests in the lobby sitting area between 5 and 6 pm each day. Free use of bicycles for hotel guests and a very pet friendly atmosphere.
We had breakfast in their in house restaurant (Jsix) on one occasion but it wasn't great so we didn't repeat the experience.
All in all, a very positive feel about the Solamar. On the basis of this stay, we will certainly book a Kimpton Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Photopedia,

Thanks so much for joining us. We're very happy that you enjoyed yourself and I'm thrilled by the comments about our team. They're truly our secret sauce. Hope you get a chance to check out other Kimptons soon, but please come back and see us too!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I happen to prefer Kimpton's wherever I travel in the US where there is one and have come to expect a level of service, comfort, and amenities that make my stay enjoyable whether on business or pleasure. While the Solamar met a number of expectations it was below par in several key categories starting with the exorbitant $40/ night valet parking charge (more than the rental itself!). Our room was quiet given the noise level of the Gaslight, but fairly cramped and with little storage space for clothes etc. Another big disappointment was the "fitness center" which looked spacious and well appointed on the web-site but in reality was not much larger than a big closet with three exercise machines--and none of three computer boards to program my workout worked. When I mentioned something to the front desk they referred me to a health club several blocks away that charged $20 per visit (no discount for hotel residents). On the positive side, it did have a lovely roof-top pool, bar and outdoor dining and was centrally located to the convention center and ball park.
.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from the noisy street and they do reserve certain floors that are dog-free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayito2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Mayito2,

We want to be more than just OK! Thanks very much for the constructive feedback from your recent stay. Glad you enjoyed our bar, pool and great design, but also appreciate you noting areas we can grow. Regarding the parking fees we do regular surveys of the fees we charge for parking. We've consistently found we're in line with what other businesses charge for a comparative service. That's an important distinction; we offer clean, safe, secured valet parking that's accessible to our guests 24 hours a day. Does an outdoor city lot cost less? Of course, but they don't offer any of those services. We're happy to help unload your car and direct you to less expensive options, but we regularly encounter guests that had issues with getting their car early, vandalism, etc. Also appreciate the feedback about our gym. While it's smaller than large hotels it was designed in mind with our amazing weather and offerings like complimentary bicycles. Most folks want to be outside, so the building is designed to that perspective. That equipment up there was just replaced and is literally 3 weeks old, so we'll make sure that we don't have any issues with them!

Hope that helps, thanks again and we hope you get a chance to come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
416 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $136 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing