We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #47 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Very helpful friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in the Solamar for four nights as part of our recent vacation in California. I picked it out because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor and because of its excellent position in the lower Gaslamp District, on the corner of 6th Avenue and J Street.
The Solamar is a medium sized hotel in a refurbished building and accordingly, both the entrance to the hotel and the lobby are rather dark. What blew us away was the warm welcome from the check-in staff....they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
Our corner room on the top (10th) floor was bright modern and spacious. No hint of darkness or dreariness in the room itself or the corridor outside.
We haven't stayed in a Kimpton Hotel before so I enrolled as a KimptonInTouch member before we arrived so we could get free wi-fi in the bedroom.
Three other points are worth a mention. Free drinks and nibbles for guests in the lobby sitting area between 5 and 6 pm each day. Free use of bicycles for hotel guests and a very pet friendly atmosphere.
We had breakfast in their in house restaurant (Jsix) on one occasion but it wasn't great so we didn't repeat the experience.
All in all, a very positive feel about the Solamar. On the basis of this stay, we will certainly book a Kimpton Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Photopedia,

Thanks so much for joining us. We're very happy that you enjoyed yourself and I'm thrilled by the comments about our team. They're truly our secret sauce. Hope you get a chance to check out other Kimptons soon, but please come back and see us too!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    550
    151
    85
    35
See reviews for
217
721
92
456
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I happen to prefer Kimpton's wherever I travel in the US where there is one and have come to expect a level of service, comfort, and amenities that make my stay enjoyable whether on business or pleasure. While the Solamar met a number of expectations it was below par in several key categories starting with the exorbitant $40/ night valet parking charge (more than the rental itself!). Our room was quiet given the noise level of the Gaslight, but fairly cramped and with little storage space for clothes etc. Another big disappointment was the "fitness center" which looked spacious and well appointed on the web-site but in reality was not much larger than a big closet with three exercise machines--and none of three computer boards to program my workout worked. When I mentioned something to the front desk they referred me to a health club several blocks away that charged $20 per visit (no discount for hotel residents). On the positive side, it did have a lovely roof-top pool, bar and outdoor dining and was centrally located to the convention center and ball park.
.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room away from the noisy street and they do reserve certain floors that are dog-free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayito2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Mayito2,

We want to be more than just OK! Thanks very much for the constructive feedback from your recent stay. Glad you enjoyed our bar, pool and great design, but also appreciate you noting areas we can grow. Regarding the parking fees we do regular surveys of the fees we charge for parking. We've consistently found we're in line with what other businesses charge for a comparative service. That's an important distinction; we offer clean, safe, secured valet parking that's accessible to our guests 24 hours a day. Does an outdoor city lot cost less? Of course, but they don't offer any of those services. We're happy to help unload your car and direct you to less expensive options, but we regularly encounter guests that had issues with getting their car early, vandalism, etc. Also appreciate the feedback about our gym. While it's smaller than large hotels it was designed in mind with our amazing weather and offerings like complimentary bicycles. Most folks want to be outside, so the building is designed to that perspective. That equipment up there was just replaced and is literally 3 weeks old, so we'll make sure that we don't have any issues with them!

Hope that helps, thanks again and we hope you get a chance to come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

First the hotel is really modern, with bikes to borrow, a amazing pool with cabana's and all the southern California sun. Close to the paths on the ocean. The room was great and the staff is very helpful especially the valet guys. The only issue we had was the bathrobes, there suppose to have animal print bathrobes but when we got up to our room there worn't there, so the next morning I ask the front desk. They said they would take care of it, we where there for a full week and we never seen them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesjegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear jamesjegan,

Thanks for joining us! Glad you had a good time although I want to apologize for the issue with the bathrobes. We'll get with our Housekeeping team and ensure they're properly stocked. Thanks again and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the Gaslamp district, just two blocks from the convention center. The area appears quite safe during the day and in the night. Definitely recommended if you are going to San Diego for a meeting in the convention center: 5 minutes walking distance, and the advantage of being really downtown after the convention, instead of having to walk form the seaside hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLS-ALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear GLS/ALS,

Thanks so much for joining us and taking the time to outline your experience. Very happy that you enjoyed yourself and had a chance to check out our amazing Gaslamp. Have a great autumn and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel on a business trip. You can never go wrong with Kimpton! This one is in the Gaslamp District and well located for access to downtown and the convention center. My room was comfortable and quiet (8th fl). Had dinner and a breakfast in restaurant on site -- both were terrific. One of the special things about this hotels is the rooftop bar and cafe, overlooking the city. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank susang1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Susan G,

Thanks for joining us! It was a pleasure hosting you and we're thrilled you enjoyed yourself. Very happy as well you had a chance to check out Jsix, We love the work they do and are very proud to be their partner. Have a great autumn and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

After a long drive from LA it was nice to land in this hotel.

The decor was fantastic throughout, making it a luxurious yet comfortable place to stay.

It was also nice to see so many 4 legged guests (dogs) they were made to feel welcome and reminded me of my mutt we left at home.

We stayed for 2 nights so did not experience everything the hotel has to offer but from what we did see we were impressed.

The pool area on the roof deck was a lovely feature and had a few log burners and firepits to offer a lovely ambiance.

We only ate breakfast here but we found this full of choice and reasonably priced for California.

The hotle is situated a block away from the Gas lamp quarter where it is the place to see at night.

The hotel was very clean, staff uber friendly and had a well stocked and interesting mini bar.

The wifi is free if you sign up for an Intouch account, this also got us $10 towards the mini bar too.

Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: View over the pool is great and you get a glimpse of the Gas Lamp Quarter too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynseylou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Lynseylou7,

Thanks very much! Very happy you had a chance to check us out and experience the Gaslamp. The fact that you didn't get to see it all means you have to come back!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a true Kimpton Hotel experience--pet-friendly, person-centered--just absolutely wonderful. The first night of my stay, the hotel delivered a cheese/cracker/fruit plate (delicious). A paper was hung on my door each morning. The rooms were clean and quiet. The hotel was conveniently located to the Convention Center and in a safe location! Hotel staff were attentive and wonderful! The wine and beer reception hour (complimentary) was nice after a long day at work and play.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing 6th avenue for the most restful sleep. (Across the street is a club, the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisG3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear KrisG3333,

Wow, thanks so much! So happy you enjoyed yourself and I'm very grateful for you acknowledging the hard work of our team. Have a great autumn and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,270 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#56 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing