We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great return to Solamar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great return to Solamar”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Returned to San Diego and the Solamar without hesitation. Great location, able to walk most everywhere or grab the tram to get there. Staff is always helpful and friendly. Enjoy the happy hour in the library, infused water when passing through the lobby. Wish they had coffee makers in the room but fortunately hubby is willing to bring coffee from the lobby each morning ... He needs it more than I do!
Only real complaint was a king sized bed with standard size pillow, rather odd.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drydenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Drydenite,

Great to hear! Thanks very much for coming back to see us. We truly appreciate the loyalty. We do have coffee makers available on a complimentary basis. Simply ask your friends in Housekeeping during your next stay and they'll be happy to run one up!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    600
    167
    89
    41
See reviews for
250
790
100
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Kimpton chain is the first (I've heard) chain of boutique hotels. They are chic and cheerful, classy and sassy. The Solamar is in the heart of the Gaslamp district, within easy walking distance to so many restaurants and cool places. The hotel will loan you shiny red bicycles to tour the city if you'd like to tour a la bike instead!
There is a gratis happy hour with locally sourced wine or beer, where guests can gather in the 'living room' and mingle. There is fresh coffee in the morning and fruit infused water throughout the day.
Your room will come with a super comfy bed, funky fun décor, free WiFi (for InTouch members), ample towels and good toiletries. If you make your reservation online, you'll be offered your choice of possible upgrades (corner room, late check out, etc.) and then given the choice to accept upon check in if available. The staff is affable and personal, even putting a photo (submitted in advance to the concierge) in my room to welcome me.
Both JSix (restaurant) and LoungeSix (rooftop bar/lounge/café) have excellent food, sourced locally and organically. LoungeSix turns into a popular rooftop nightspot - it's worth grabbing a cocktail to catch the scenery.
Perhaps you'll find the cost a bit high, but when you consider the cost and challenge of parking everywhere you go, and the location, and the service you'll receive.. it'll be worth it.

Room Tip: book through Kimpton's website for possible upgrades, and become an InTouch member for free WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Lizdwhiz,

Fantastic feedback, thanks so much! We're thrilled you enjoyed yourself and do hope you make it back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I took a recent trip to San Diego to celebrate a baby moon. We spent 5 nights at Solamar and had a great stay. We were in a corner room (503) which was great, lots of windows and light. There was a slight odor of BO which is really odd, but it was there. Opening the windows and a candle did the trick. We loved the location and the roof deck with pool and bar. Made for a very relaxing vacation. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Amanda K,

Thanks for joining us! Happy you enjoyed yourself but did want to acknowledge and apologize for the issues with the room. We'll let our Housekeeping team know to go check out room 503 and make sure the situation has been addressed. Have a wonderful autumn and please come see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days in California, and planned our itinerary to save the best for last by booking this hotel. It was our first stay in a Kimpton Hotel, and I researched them thoroughly. I booked through the hotel and used their "frequent stay" program called "In Touch." I was impressed before we arrived, as the concierge emailed and invited me to send a photo via email that would be printed and displayed in our room. I chose a wedding photo as this was a romantic getaway, and thought it would be a fun surprise. Another email from Kimpton asked for us to choose what kind of pillows we preferred-- fun to get to choose! We were really looking forward to our stay. When we arrived, we were surprised to see that hotel parking was $40/night, but the valet also mentioned street parking as an option. We got up to our room, which had a great view, and was nicely decorated, but upon settling in, we saw that there was
1. No photo as had been offered,
2. No selected pillow type
3. A broken shelf in the bathroom,
4. The bathrobes were faded and fraying on the cuffs.
5. No soap in the bathroom. Solamar doesn't do little soaps/shampoos, but has a dispenser that is used by all guests in the shower. The soap dispenser was empty. When we requested soap, the housekeeping staff member explained they were out. We requested bar soap, and she brought it.

It felt strange and disappointing. We went up to the rooftop bar, which was lovely-- great vibe-- but were met with some rudeness by a waiter. It was so strange for a hotel that focuses on details and plush atmosphere to have missed the mark on so many points. I shared our experience with the front desk politely and calmly, and explained that I was disappointed not to receive the very services they had suggested to me. They apologized and offered us a bottle of champagne , but we had an early flight and were ready for bed. All in all, there are many other places with a much more attentive property and guest services management.

Solamar is a 7 in a city full of 10s. If you decide to stay there, make sure to do your research in advance and confirm any details of your stay before your arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ammotion,

Wow, when we screw up, we screw up big! My most sincere apologies for letting you down. Reading your review was both embarrassing and humbling; I appreciate you letting us know what happened, so we can work to ensure we learn and grow from our mistakes. If your travels bring you back to San Diego I'd like you to contact me directly so that I can work on having you come back and rebuilding your trust in our team and hotel. If you'd like to speak further about your stay I'd welcome you contacting me directly at the hotel.

Best,

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Solamar we actually extended our stay to catch a Padres game (Petco park is a 2 minute walk away). The staff were all brilliant and helpful the rooms are large and beds huge. We loved our stay and would not hesitate to come back. The pool and pool bar are a great during the day and for meeting before going out at night. The free bike rental and the free beer (yes FREE BEER) for an hour at night is a great touch.

Room Tip: As with most cities the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyNBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear AndynBradford,

So happy you enjoyed yourself! Also appreciate the comments about our wonderful staff and free beer! Have a wonderful fall and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We loved our four day stay at Hotel Solamar for a conference located down the street at the convention center. We loved our 10th floor room with view of the pool, the evening happy hour, the bikes for rent, the excellent advice given by the concierges. The rooms were generous in size and very stylishly decorated. The hotel was large but lacking that big corporate feel. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to be in the Gaslamp Quarter!

Room Tip: Rooms toward the middle have a view of the pool and partial water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Faeanna,

Very happy to hear about your recent stay with us. It's incredibly rewarding to have our great team deliver and their hard work be acknowledged by our guests. Please come back for a leisure visit next time, so you can spend more time enjoying our wonderful city!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is the third Kimpton Hotel we have stayed in (also Boston and Washington) and we were not disappointed. All the staff were friendly and most helpful. A special mention of the valet parking guys who were very patient when giving me directions! Our room was spacious and light overlooking the San Diego Padres ground - quite exciting when the lights were on and the firework display after an evening match! The hotel was perfectly positioned for the Gaslight District with it's many restaurants and the marina (which became our favourite place to stroll). We ate in the hotel restaurant on several nights and as it was San Diego Restaurant Week and the menu was very reasonably priced. The food and service were both really excellent. There were lots of welcome touches - the early morning coffee in reception, complimentary evening drinks hour and continental breakfast. However, 40 dollars per night to park the car was a bit steep. All in all the six nights we spent at the Solamar was a perfect ending to a wonderful holiday in USA so thanks everyone.

Room Tip: Don't have a room overlooking the pool. The busy Pool Bar is open to 11.00pm weekdays and 1.00am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Phillip E,

Happy to hear it! It's especially gratifying to hear that we maintained your perception of the Kimpton brand particularly after your visit to our Boston and DC properties. I'm quite familiar with those and they're all top notch. Please come back for a visit soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
5,048 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing