We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at this hotel. The location was excellent, in the centre of the gaslight quarter, and the amenities were also excellent, except for having to pay for wi-fi access; shouldn't this be free everywhere by now? The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful, and the free happy hour is a great idea for socialising and meeting other guests, or for just enjoying a few free drinks and delicious snacks. The swimming pool is fine, but can get very busy. A further improvement would be free coffee-making facilities and free water, rather than the $7 per bottle bottles that were placed in the bedroom. Our room was spacious and modern and comfortable, with good, quiet ac and good soundproofing; we were hardly aware of other guests at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fudgecat0250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear FudgeCat0250,

First of all, marvelous name! I also do want to thank you for the kind words about your experience with us. Regarding the internet access, we do offer complimentary wireless for members of our loyalty program Kimpton InTouch; I'd recommend you check it out at our hotel's website. There's a lot of great value beyond that perk in that program as well.

I also appreciate the feedback about the water and coffee. We do offer complimentary coffee makers in our rooms, simply ask for one at arrival and we'll be happy to send it up. Along with complimentary coffee in our lobby we also offer fruit infused water all day long prior to complimentary beer and sangria at our SoCal Hour every day at 5pm.

Thanks again for the feedback and please come see us again.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    607
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
264
802
100
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Solamar the Friday before Labor Day. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by the friendly staff. We had a room on an upper-level floor (as indicated by my Kimpton InTouch profile), and we received a $10 coupon to raid the mini bar! The decor in the room was trendy, yet comfortable. Being by the ocean, it had a nice "beachy" feel. We chose to go out to dinner, but came back to the hotel for a drink. The outdoor bar was occupied, but not too crowded - perfect. My husband and I enjoyed our drinks on a cozy couch that looked out over the Gas Lamp District. Unfortunately, we could only stay for one night. I would like to go back to fully experience this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Betsy Z,

We'd love to have you back for more than a night! Thanks for the great feedback and we hope you both can come join us again soon. Have a wonderful rest of your summer; hopefully it's cooling off in Tucson!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Hotel Solamar to attend a business conference and to make sure my wife joined me during the conference. This hotel’s ambience and service begins with the attentive valet and bell staff. Michael, the valet/bellman was helpful and courteous during our entire stay. The hotel is conveniently located within a five minute walk of Petco Park, 10 minutes from the convention center, just around the corner from the Gaslamp district and a few minutes’ walk to Horton Plaza. The check-in is very friendly and easy. Our corner sunken Jacuzzi room was on a corner and had views of the ballpark and the bay. The room is very comfortable. The pool was quite with outstanding service. There was plenty of room to work and play. They serve complimentary coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon. This is our San Diego hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with the sunken Jacuzzi tub. Check the website for discounts. They do off...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very green but not obnoxiously so. I enjoyed the separate recycling trash container in the room.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Crewdog13,

We're thrilled to be your San Diego hotel! Thanks very much for the kind words, we really appreciate the feedback. I also was very happy to read the comments about Mike and our wonderful Valet team; they really do set the tone for our service. Have a great rest of the summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday and everything was perfect. We loved the room and we had a great view of the pool. It was a great afternoon at the pool and lunch at the bar was perfect. The portions were large and both meals were enjoyable. The staff was friendly and helpful and all there recommendations were perfect!

Room Tip: Join the club before you book your room and you get treated like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear ShelleeO,

That's great to hear! We always appreciate when someone trusts us with a milestone event like a birthday. Glad to hear we delivered. Have a great rest of the summer and please come back soon, maybe for your birthday!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have stayed at many real 5 star hotels in the world, but this one while may not be the best from a building or facilities perspective, shines with its staff. From the valet guys to Kim at reception, I had a total blast and would easily stay again because of them.

Better pillows needed for sure, but overall very nice and central! Again will stay there if in San Diego again

Room Tip: Ask for better pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Victor C,

We love our staff too! They definitely bring the Kimpton spirit to our hotel and we're very lucky to have them. Have a wonderful rest of your summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Centrally located with the great service and ameninities of a Kimpton Hotel. The hotel is located in the Gaslamp Quarter which has a really high number of restaurants and pubs so you only need to walk a couple blocks for some great dining/evening spots. We did have to take a taxi to the San Diego Zoo and Pacific Beach (although we took public transport back to the hotel from Pacific Beach which was very easy).

Recommendation - valet parking is $40 a night at the hotel but there's an above ground parking lot directly across the street for $10 a day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Pete C,

Thanks for coming! Very happy to see you had a chance to venture out beyond the Gaslamp and check out some local's favorites like Balboa Park (home of our famous zoo) and Pacific Beach, one of the last great authentic surf towns. Have a wonderful rest of your summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Solamar proves that hotels can be both hip and homely!
The location is spot on. Sandwiched in the Gaslamp, a block from 5th Avenue's eateries and Petco Park. Our room was perfect, a decent size located on the top floor (10th) with views over the rooftop pool and a glimpse of the baseball stadium!
Did I say rooftop pool? I did! A perfect retreat after a day out (and perfect for a morning dip, too!). Treading water (okay it's only 3.6ft deep, so technically treading wasn't required!) balancing a martini is a trick to master!
Staff were always polite and the SoCal hour (5pm-6pm each day) with free beers and bites is a delightful way to begin the evening. Coffee and free newspaper available every morning.
Oh and a the fruit-infused water (available all day) is a lovely touch too!

Room Tip: I'd choose a higher floor for the views and being a bit quieter. (our 10th floor room meant no...
See more room tips
Green Features: Most hotels promote environment-friendly aspects, pleased that the Solamar actually carries that through (hotels often replace towels even though you've indicated that isn't required). I'm always happy to re-use towels, and the Solamar approach meant I could!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DumDumBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DumDumBoy,

Thank you so much for coming, glad you enjoyed yourself! Also quite pleased to hear you had a chance to visit our LoungeSIX area to show your martini skills. Have a wonderful rest of the summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,122 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,433 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing