We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- quiet rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
825 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Great location- quiet rooms”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This location can't be beat!!! It is just across the street from the stadium-our room on the 7th floor overlooked the stands- and it's a stone's throw from the Gaslamp district shops and restaurants. It is a short walk up 6th Ave to Balboa park (mile), and a short walk in the opposite direction to get to the bay. We did not find it necessary to retrieve our car the weekend we were there. The pool is small, but the rooftop deck is large and was not too crowded in the early evening. We asked for a quiet room, and were located on the opposite side of the pool- despite overlooking several bars, we did not hear anything through closed windows. We also did not hear any hallway or adjacent room noise. The room itself was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sheryl B,

Thanks so much for joining us. We're thrilled that you had a good time and also happy to see you had a chance to get out into the famous Gaslamp District. Have a wonderful fall and please come back soon to see us.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    607
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
264
802
100
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great location in the Gaslamp district. Had room 1034 which has a bird's eye view of the Padres game and fireworks. Not particularly quiet, but I guess that's to be expected. The sangria and beer reception at 5 pm was fun. The Jacuzzi tub rocked and the beds were quite comfy. The decor was cute. $7 for bottled water is ridiculous.

I'd give it 3.5 stars if I could. Service as pretty good, they kept mispronouncing my bf's last name (he made the reservation) which is the first time that's ever happened to us. I guess they never could get it right in the system. Room was big and clean, but noisy (which we were not warned about since I asked for a room away from the pool, "where it's quiet.")

The restaurant is mediocre. Had breakfast there and MUCH prefer Cafe 21.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear RockyMtnGoat,

Thanks very much for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed 1034, which I agree is a great room. It's no the back side of the hotel, so you only really get noise issues up there when it's a game night. Apologies for the challenges you had with the restaurant, we usually get such great feedback there. Also appreciate the comments about the water in the room, don't forget; we offer complimentary coffee & tea in the morning, fruit infused water all day long and complimentary beer and sangria each night. Hopefully that makes up for it! Thanks again and come see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff are all so great and we've stayed here before and enjoyed it so much again. Same bartendars after 3 years! Friendly all around. They also have daily beer and wine and coffee in the morning and it's good coffee! Even though it's dog and family friendly still maintains a good noise level and the rooms are clean. I did have to wait for the season rates to drop as I don't think $450 is a rate I would pay for their rooms unless you are paying for the location as you can walk about anywhere for anything.

Green Features: Reuse your towels, they have refillable bottles for shampoos etc.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Alelid,

Thanks very much, it was great to host you! I can't tell you how much we appreciate your loyalty to our property. Have a great summer and please come back and see us soon. Our team at the bar will be waiting!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I love Kimpton Hotels. They are by far my favorite chain. So it was incredibly disappointing to come across the Solamar. It wasn't terrible, the hotel was just not kept up nearly as well as the other Kimpton properties I have visited. Scuff marks on walls, stains on carpeting, and the unimpressive (as far as decor) hotel rooms really stood out. The property is in serious need of some TLC and is making the rest of the Kimpton family look bad!

Some nice things about the hotel:
The staff was friendly and professional-from the font desk to the valet-all smiles.
The hosted wine hour makes all Kimptons stand out from the crowd.
Gaslamp District location

Next time I am in San Diego I will stay at the Palomar instead. I think they can better provide that signature Kimpton experience. Hopefully the Solamar gets itself together soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNR683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear CNR683,

Thanks for the feedback and our apologies for letting you down! Our team does a wonderful job in keeping up on a very busy and popular property. Looks like we were off our A game this go around however. We do hope that the next time you're back in SD you give us another chance to make it up to you. Thanks again and hopefully you'll see us at our best in future stays.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Right in the heart of the Gaslamp district and a block from Petco Park. We were there when the Yankees were in town which made the streets of the Gaslamp district quite busy and loud. The hotel handled it splendidly. Great staff, hipster rooms and a great expereince. Dog frindly and heck you can even rent a radio flyer wagon to drag your kids around if you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outta_boundsOkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear outta_boundsokc,

Perfectly put. Thanks so much and get back here soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlstadt, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was the first get-away vacation as a family in over 11 years and we had a fantastic time! The location of the Solamar was perfect. It was a block away from Petco Park which was ideal for us for we came to see the Yankees play. The choice of restaurants in the area was unbelievable!

As for the Solamar itself – we got the early check-in option, which for us coming in from NY was exactly what we wanted. The room was all ready for us which was a blessing after a 6 hr flight. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a goldfish that we named Moby Dick for our stay. Unfortunately he didn’t make it but we did. The one thing that we did find unusual was that there was no dresser to put your clothes away, just a shelving unit in the closet (along with the room safe). For a family of 4, it was tight for storing the clothes but we made it work. For the bathroom, which was very nice & clean we were surprise that it didn’t have a ventilation fan for when you took a shower because of the condensation & possible mold build-up (which it didn’t not have). I mentioned that to Mr. Hannigan in an email after coming back home when he asked how our stay was. The room was clean and always kept up. We did not have any issues with noise whatsoever. The pool was fine for us. The entire staff – from Valet (who were all perfect gentleman!), Front Desk, Housekeeping, Maintenance and Wait Staff & Room Service – all were very courteous, friendly and genuinely all-around nice people.

We wanted to say thank you for a wonderful stay and a vacation that will not be forgotten. Maybe next time we will hit the beaches!!!

Room Tip: Early check-in option which cost us $39.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Terry D,

Two things; call me Rob and please don't wait another 11 years to come see us. Have a great summer and think of us for the next vacation!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Firstly - staff here are mostly lovely, particularly the guys on the door. When we couldn't get a cab they happily grabbed the hotel car and drove us places. Offered to pick up too. Very friendly.

Rooms could have been great and probably were when they first opened but you get the feeling that it was done relatively cheaply and is peeling a bit at the edges. Cleaning not great.

Was expecting noise at night but MAN was the club opposite loud. Rooftop club! Vibrations coming through the pillow! Still, came armed with nytol and earplugs so that was ok.

Some nice touches like coffee/tea downstairs in the morning. This was good although would personally prefer kettle in room so I don't have to get dressed before first cup of the day! Also complimentary drink at 5ish if you're around.

Location was great for us - very central.

The pool area was great fun although it made me feel a bit like a granny! Lots of scantily clad twenty somethings! Lovely cocktails and a good place to relax after busy day. Good atmosphere but very crowded. Good service.

Don't choose this hotel if you want peace and quiet as it's not what it's about!

Room Tip: the side furthest away from the rooftop bar on 6th
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Hpp63,

Thanks very much for outlining your recent experience with us. I want to thank you first of all for your kind words about our valet team. We completely agree that they're an incredibly welcoming presence and we're very lucky to have them! Also appreciate the feedback about the club across the street. Having the finest weather in America can sometimes be a mixed bag; with every day mild and sunny many of the local businesses are able to move their operation outdoors! My recommendation is to ask for a room overlooking the East Village. That's the side of the hotel overlooking 7th Ave, and we find it a bit quieter.

Thanks again for your kind words and for your next visit feel free in asking for a coffee/tea maker in your room. We'll have one up with our compliments! Thanks again and please come see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,123 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,434 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing