We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday and everything was perfect. The beds were great, and the room was well decorated. The upstairs, outdoor bar was fun and the drinks were reasonably priced. Walked to a local restaurant for dinner. I plan to come back soon. I'll easily recommend this hotel to friends and family!

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDdad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Dan Z,

Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it when someone trusts us with a milestone event like a birthday. So happy we were able to deliver! Have a great rest of the summer and come back and see us, but don't wait until your next birthday!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    579
    161
    87
    39
See reviews for
237
762
99
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We attended a conference in San Diego (at the Hilton, next to the convention center). The convention hotel was sold out, so an associate recommended the Hotel Solamar to us. I am glad he did. In fact, after staying at the Solamar, I'm glad the convention hotel was sold out! Everything about this hotel was great. Friendly, helpful staff. Large clean room with comfortable bed. Great pool and lounge. Awesome access/right next to Gas Lamp district. Steps away from transit system, easy enjoyable walk to convention center. This is a great hotel and we will stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 2jackson,

Thanks very much! We really appreciate you taking the time to outline your experience and very happy that you found it so enjoyable. Have a great rest of the summer and come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent two nights at the Hotel Solamar while visiting our daughter at college.

The room itself was very comfortable. Nice firm bed, good amenities, and a reasonable amount of space. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did have a couple of drinks at the bar. There's a daily happy hour in the lobby where they serve beer and sangria.

Overall the service was really great. We've traveled to many different places around the world and have stayed in a wide range of hotels, and I think that the Hotel Solamar's staff is amongst the best we've encountered. It's not that they do anything totally different than any other hotel, it's just that they consistently do that little bit extra that makes all the difference in the world.

Word of caution if you're there for the weekend (Thurs thru Sat). There's a club across the street on one side of the hotel that blasts music on their rooftop bar until 1:30am.. If you're up that late anyway - no worries... but if you want to sleep you should make sure your room is on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GSTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear GStim,

Thanks very much, we truly appreciate the feedback! I was thrilled to hear your comments about our wonderful staff. It's high praise indeed coming from someone who's had a chance to see other hotels around the world. Have a wonderful summer and please come back soon; we'll have a glass of sangia waiting!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Room and shared spaces all high quality with lots of interesting features. Nice touches like wine hour, coffee and map of the area with restaurants etc listed. Staff could not have been more helpful. Lovely atmosphere. Great city and excellent location. Will look out for kimpton group

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Carolyn W,

It was a pleasure to read your review! So happy you enjoyed yourself and even happier that we made you consider Kimpton Hotels in other cities. Have a great summer and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Up's
- Quick check in and friendly/helpfull Front Desk employees (includes Doorman and bellmans)
- Good lobby area
- Prime location
- Next to Petco Park and a short walking distance to Convention Center
- Plenty of restaurants to choose from in the neighborhood
- Very clean hotel
-JSix Restaurant very good (Burger is amazing)

Down's
- Although rooms are very clean they are looking bit "tired"
- Room Service needs to double check tray before sending to room. Sent my breakfast (eggs) without salt and pepper and no sugar (of any kind) for my Latte.
- NO SECURITY LATCH on door. This is not acceptable. Liked the hotel but if I return to SD this might be something that would hold me back of staying here again.
- Bathroom - poor light (yellow) and slippery bathtub with no place to 'hold on" in case you need to

Room Tip: I was facing the street and it was quiet. Don't know about the rest.
See more room tips
Green Features: Same as in many other hotels. If you want to keep towel hang it, if you put on the floor will be replaced etc. If there is anything else I did not know or it was not obvious to me to see (read). Maybe information was not available in the room?
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debnelsonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Debnelsonr,

Thanks for detailing your experience with us. I'm thrilled you had a chance to experience our warm, welcoming staff and the great location of the hotel. I also appreciate the areas you outlined where we can up our game. We'll make sure that we reiterate the process to our In Room Dining team about what should round out the tray. Regarding the latch issue we have deadbolts on all of our rooms to ensure our guests safety. I hope that helps, and if you return to San Diego I certainly hope that you'll consider us again. Thanks so much and have a wonderful summer.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Solamar during our recent 2 night - 1 day lay over in SD on our way to Hi. A contemporary and fun feel in a great location. Great pool/bar on the fourth floor with nice view. Not the Ritz but if you are looking for a nice, friendly place with a little character this is the place. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great value for this type of place. My wife, son and I all enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay again. Bikes and red wagons are available for free for guests. While we didn't have our pets with us we loved sharing the elevators and lobbies with other 4 legged guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear MichaelG2,

Glad you made it and even happier that you were so pleased with your stay! We certainly want to provide a memorable experience so glad to see that you had a chance to check out our special guest amenities like our bikes and wagons. Come see us soon, and please bring your pet next time!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice surprise! Great location-walking distance to gas lamp quarter. Cvs & groceries nearby. Can be noisy if windows open on the weekends. Pet friendly. Had goldfish in room waiting for our daughter as a surprise & picture we sent of our pet. Staff extremely friendly & helpful. Room service menu above avg. bikes available for "borrow" and watering area for your pooch. Pool was great, bar & fire pit. Loved this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear NurseK12,

What kind words, thanks so much! We're thrilled that you got to see our team in action and all our hotel offers during a stay with us. Have a wonderful summer and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,733 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#49 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing