We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 3, 2013

First visit to Solamar. Check in went very smoothly. We were in San Diego for the 1/2 marathon, and they were nice enough to put us in a room away from the pool area, where the beat goes on late into the evening. We later talked to some other racers who were short on sleep because they kept the party going way too late the night before the race, even though the hotel was full of race participants.

We liked the room - very spacious and modern. Liked jetted tub in the room. But just one drawer for storing clothes besides the closet? The room needs a dresser!

We liked the pool area, great place to hang out for a couple of cocktails, good music, and we appreciated the patio heaters. We were disappointed that there was no jacuzzi in the pool area, however.

The location is unbeatable. Right in the Gas Lamp Quarter, close to the convention center, about a 20 minute walk to Balboa Park. Also dog friendly, we may bring our pups next time!!

We also enjoyed the wine hour. Also very thankful for the breakfast they had for the marathon participants in the morning, especially since the race organizers had run out of food and water at the start of the race. We were unhappy that the shuttle to the start line didn't materialize, the taxi only took us 6 blocks before kicking us out of the cab. You would think someone could have figured out how to get us closer, or had been aware of road closures.

Room Tip: Room 1034 - top floor in the corner. Awesome!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendertucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Hendertucky,

That's great to hear! Thanks very much for recapping your stay with us. I really appreciate you outlining what you liked about us, as well as suggestions on where we can grow. Regarding the dressers, we do have shelving units in the closets, but we're always happy to see what else works. Regarding the jacuzzis, think about staying in one of our wonderful spa rooms next visit. They've got a great soaking tub in them!

Thanks again and please come see us for next year's marathon.

Rober
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,027)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Solamar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean. Great location. Staff was awesome. Especially Marissa at the front desk and Josh at the pool bar. We were even sent a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. Absolutely will be back.

Highly recommend walking down to j wok to eat.

Also... I'm not a pet lover and was very glad they have pet free floors.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrown522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear KBrown522,

Thanks for the kind words about our team, especially Josh and Marissa! We're very lucky to have them. Please come back soon and from all of us at the Hotel Solamar, Happy Anniversary!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our whole stay at Solamar, from check in to check out. We were in San Diego for the night, picking up our son from college for the summer. I am a member of Kimpton loyalty program(anyone can sign up online) and have a standing request of what type of room, what newspaper, and even the kind of pillows, and they gave me Exactly what I requested - high floor with a beautiful view (no no extra charge), furthest away from elevator noise, plump pillows, and the NY Times. Really made me feel catered to. The free internet was handy, wine hour hit the spot after the long drive from Northern CA, and they were very accommodating in freezing my blue ice for my medications in my cooler.
I highly recommend signing up for the Kimpton loyalty program because they send you special deals on rooms and upgrades. We got half price valet parking on this visit. The location of the Solamar was great, there were so many restaurants in walking distance that we ate at 2 in one night! I am looking forward to staying again.

Room Tip: High floors have a beautiful view, we stayed on a week night and it was very quiet. However, we were...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Tina2020,

Thanks so much for joining us. I'm also happy to hear you took advantage of the Gaslamp and all it has to offer. Please come back soon; 'two restaurants a night' sound like our kind of people!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

San Diego is a great city, and staying at the Hotel Solamar in the heart of the Gaslamp district makes it a memorable experience. We appreciated the valet staff organizing a car rental for us and the coffee plus wine happy hour made for a comfortable feeling during our stay. Our room was spacious, clean, nicely appointed, and quiet. We love Kimpton hotels for the unique décor and contemporary feel. The roof bar and pool area was really fun at the end of the day. A bonus is the proximity to Petco Park, the Convention Centre, the trolley and many interesting shops and restaurants. Breakfast in the adjacent JSix offered a good selection of interesting healthy options to start the day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NamasteEloise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear NamasteEloise,

Sounds like a wonderful visit! So happy our team was able to deliver on your experience. Have a great summer, and please come back and see us soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

In town for my birthday and a Padres game. Perfect location for both! Had a deluxe King Spa room which was very spacious [loved the love seat] and done in a nice, soothing color scheme. The bed was so comfortable and the towels were large, fluffy and in great shape [nothing worse than a bad bed and skimpy, scratchy towels]. Nice employees, personable and helpful. A+ experience.

Rooms were quiet and as usual, loved the morning coffee and afternoon wine hour.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debits2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Debits2000,

What a wonderful review! So happy to hear that we nailed it for you, especially on a birthday trip! Please come back for your next one and Go Padres!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We traveled to San Diego for Memorial Day weekend and into the following week for 3 nights. I chose Hotel Solamar for the proximity to restaurants, entertainment, shopping etc. and in that regard the location did not disappoint. There were several items that

Pros: Location, location, location. Master suite was had a nice view of downtown and the pool plus large jacuzzi soaking tub. Spacious and comfortable room. Friendly and prompt front desk manager and bell men. Nice but small pool.

Cons: Early check-in wasn't available and then was unable to receive key for an hour and a half after standard check-in of 3 p.m. At least 10 other couples were frustrated and waiting for rooms as well. Room showed signs of wear especially in bathroom and living room furniture. Housekeeping was a bit lax, they didn't refold blankets at end of bed and seemed to take quite a while to refresh room.

Be advised....we stayed in Room 703 and on weekend nights there is tremendous noise from a nightclub across the street until about 2 a.m.! If you are a light sleeper or want to relax, this side of the hotel is not for you. We could clearly make out the song lyrics and felt the bass from a rooftop nightclub next door. I would advise asking for a room on the other side of the hotel if you are looking for a good night's rest. Luckily we were in town to party so we weren't bothered but it is something to know prior to check-in.

Overall the Solamar is a nice place to stay but not as nice as many of the other Kimpton properties I've stayed in across the U.S. The front desk manager was very apologetic and accommodating about the long check-in wait and even offered us a complimentary meal in the hotel restaurant which was very generous. I would consider staying here again but would also think about other properties in Gaslamp that would offer the same location and perhaps a smoother stay overall.

Room Tip: Corner master suites are nice but can be noisy if on the J street side of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWmsWow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear CwMsWow,

Apologies for a less than perfect experience! I'm truly sorry about the challenges you had during check in. Every weekend it's a balance to be respectful of the guests that want to take their time in leaving and those that want to get in asap. While it can be tough, it's what we do and I'm sorry we didn't deliver for you! I am happy to hear that our team was responsive to the challenge you had and I hope you enjoyed dinner. Thanks again and I do hope you give us another try in the future.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I reserved the corner room with a Jacuzzi tub. I stayed for two nights and it was just what I hoped it would be. First off the the staff is great and friendly. The room was big, the bed was extremely comfortable, had a sitting area, and cabinet with a refrigerator underneath and a bar on top. The bathroom was really cool; glass shower, nice modern vanity and sink, and the tub that had a step up. A couple of complaints: to get free Wi-Fi you have to sign up to there "club" or it will cost $11.99 a day, the refrigerator took a long time to cool. Oh I forgot to mention, the location is right up the street from the baseball stadium and there were two bars right across the street.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stepan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Stepan S,

Glad to hear that you had a good time! We're definitely in a great neighborhood and I'm happy you were able to take advantage of our local attractions. Also appreciate hearing the feedback about our internet. Kimpton InTouch membership does offer comp wireless internet at all of our hotels (60 and growing!), but there's a lot of other benefits that come along with it. You can check them out at our Kimpton brand's website. Thanks again and I hope you come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,268 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,411 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#43 of 278 in San Diego
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 278 in San Diego
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $186 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing