We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another great Kimpton experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #44 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Another great Kimpton experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I said this to the woman at the front desk who handled my checkout: "You Kimpton folks have a conspiracy to make sure I don't stay anywhere else!" This was my fourth hotel of theirs in the past three months, and I just really love their philosophy of delivering comfort, style and fun energy... at rates that do not break the bank.

The Solamar's proximity to the Gaslamp Quarter is unbeatable; and certainly if you're attending a ball game, you can't get much closer. One of the reasons I chose it was the rooftop pool, and it sure is cool; I was up there on a beautiful Sunday afternoon, and it was spectacular.

My room was large, clean and comfortable. Staff members I encountered were great. The only disappointment I encountered was of the fitness room... it's pretty small and basic. Not a big deal, though; I walked to and sprung for a day pass from a place called Fit San Diego that was probably the most luxurious fitness center I've ever seen. The walking part is key... yes, you have to pay a premium to valet park. But assuming you're staying there because you're doing a lot in downtown San Diego, you don't have to move your car until checkout, because everything is so close.

I am a complete and utter dog lover, so my final observation made me very happy: never have I seen as many dogs at a hotel. There are designated dog floors, so if this would NOT make you very happy, you can request one of the non-dog ones. All dogs were very well behaved, by the way, which is occasionally dissimilar to my own two canines!

The Solamar definitely hit the mark for me.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear George_PConnecticut,

Wow, what a wonderful review! We certainly do make it our goal to be your favorite hotel brand. So happy to hear that you had a chance to check out our great neighborhood, the Gaslamp. And very happy you had a chance to meet some of our canine guests. Please bring your pet next time, so you really feel at home!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    559
    156
    85
    38
See reviews for
227
737
95
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We always stay here when in town. Staff is attentive and rooms are always clean. Very dog friendly and kid friendly! Free wine hour at 5!! Only down side, parking has gone up to 40 bucks! Try the mango margarita at the pool side lounge, my wife swears by it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efangio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Efangio78,

Thanks for joining us, we're thrilled you had a good time! We also appreciate the feedback about our staff. We love them too. Please come back soon and tell your wife the next Mango Margarita's on us!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We loved staying here. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Managers walk the walk; they are around and chat and support their staff-they do whatever needs doing. Rooms are clean and well supplied.
The pool area is lovely. There's a bar and bar food. Towels are in good supply. We were lucky with the weather too. The food in the restaurant is innovative and tasty.
Slight caveats- valet parking is $40 a night and we had no forewarning and it is essential as the hotel is very near the busy baseball stadium. And the soap dispenser is tricky to use if one is taking a bath rather than showering and the bottled water on the bedside table looks complimentary and isn't as I discovered to my cost ($7!)
The hotel is in the busy Gaslamp area and near the stop for the trolley sightseeing tour which is worth taking as the drivers are well informed and amusing. Lots of bars and restaurants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AynieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear AynieLondon,

We certainly do our best! Thanks for joining us and a big thank you for such kind feedback. While I'm happy about the comments about our wonderful team I did want to apologize for the surprise about the parking charges and especially the lack of clarity on the minibar charges. Please come back again, the next water is on me!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 days on a business conference. Not a top flight Kimpton Property. Rooms were slightly worn and bathrooms were just ok. Suite consisted of a narrow warren of rooms in shot gun fashion. Nothing spacious here. Hotel is a magnet for the young 20s crowd who party in the Gaslamp District a block a way. Outdoor pool an be a bit of seen but also a bit seedy with a confused bar staff. Front desk is young and scruffy, but energetic. Valet staff is attentive and the hotel is nicely located a 1 minute walk to Gaslamp. Stay, but there has to be better in San Diego....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoredevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Shoredevil,

Thanks very much for your feedback about your stay with us. We're in the process of starting the initial work and discussions for a renovation of our property and hope to have something outlined soon. It's our goal to work to be the best hotel in San Diego, but we'll never get there until we learn from the times we let our guests down. Thanks again for joining us, we'll continue to improve our operation.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

A wonderful hotel that exemplifies Kimpton standards. Very friendly staff, great concierge services and excellent valet services. Check-in was a breeze and the hotel was very accommodating to our dogs from the moment we stepped out of our car.

Our room was spacious and had a furnished balcony and nice views of downtown San Diego. The real star of the room was the Fuji soaking tub, It had to be the deepest tub I have ever seen! Soaking may be an understatement, you could easily float in the tub.

They also helped to make our 22nd anniversary special. They sent a nice bottle of wine and a hand written note to our room upon arrival and assisted us with reservations at
Fleming's for dinner.

Saying the staff is exceptional is really selling them short. They were always attentive, addressed us by name, and ready to help at any moment, Our dogs loved the valet staff who always had a treat for them every time we called for our car.

I highly recommend the Solomar, its location in the Gas Lamp quarter is great, the staff is fantastic, and the rooms are exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanchacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Sanchacita,

What great feedback, thanks on behalf of our team. We truly appreciate you entrusting us with your anniversary; it's always a pleasure to assist a guest with celebrating a milestone. Please come join us for # 23!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel felt very similar to a W Hotel with a slightly less cool vibe. All of the employees went above and beyond to make sure my stay was comfortable. No request was too difficult and everyone was pleasant and helpful. I stayed in a King Spa room which appeared larger than a standarrd King and had a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The location is obviously in the Gaslamp and within a few blocks of tons of great bars and restaurants. And the pool deck area which is huge becomes a bit of a party scene on the weekend. Frankly only Saturday got crowded when I was there but it was nice to return to the hotel from the other more crowded spots and find some space on the deck to relax with a cocktail before going to sleep. Saturday night was a bit noisy going to sleep as the bar at the pool or the Stingaree across the street kept me up a little bit. Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Terp95,

Thanks for coming! We appreciate the kind words about our team and the great environment. Also happy to see you had a chance to join us at LoungeSIX for a cocktail. Have a wonderful summer and place do what you can to make it back out soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nites last week and was treated like royalty. Restaurant managers and chef checked on quality of our meals and wine selection. Staff was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the valets. Terrific late afternoon complimentary wines hour, lovely pool area and bar, and very functional exercise room. Hotel is small enough to be warm and cozy, but with full amenities, and within a few blocks of Gaslamp District and the Petco Stadium as well as walking distance to the Embarcadero and Sea Port Village. When your only complaint is that the tv controller was a little to "techie", you know the hotel is a winner....will stay there again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not above the pool area which can get noisy at nite as the area turns into a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larrylerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear LarryLerner,

We'll change the TV channels for you! Thanks for your kind feedback about our team and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,434 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#66 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,716 reviews
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing