We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for My Trip to SD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for My Trip to SD”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel felt very similar to a W Hotel with a slightly less cool vibe. All of the employees went above and beyond to make sure my stay was comfortable. No request was too difficult and everyone was pleasant and helpful. I stayed in a King Spa room which appeared larger than a standarrd King and had a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The location is obviously in the Gaslamp and within a few blocks of tons of great bars and restaurants. And the pool deck area which is huge becomes a bit of a party scene on the weekend. Frankly only Saturday got crowded when I was there but it was nice to return to the hotel from the other more crowded spots and find some space on the deck to relax with a cocktail before going to sleep. Saturday night was a bit noisy going to sleep as the bar at the pool or the Stingaree across the street kept me up a little bit. Overall a very pleasant stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Terp95,

Thanks for coming! We appreciate the kind words about our team and the great environment. Also happy to see you had a chance to join us at LoungeSIX for a cocktail. Have a wonderful summer and place do what you can to make it back out soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    606
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
262
801
100
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nites last week and was treated like royalty. Restaurant managers and chef checked on quality of our meals and wine selection. Staff was very friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the valets. Terrific late afternoon complimentary wines hour, lovely pool area and bar, and very functional exercise room. Hotel is small enough to be warm and cozy, but with full amenities, and within a few blocks of Gaslamp District and the Petco Stadium as well as walking distance to the Embarcadero and Sea Port Village. When your only complaint is that the tv controller was a little to "techie", you know the hotel is a winner....will stay there again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not above the pool area which can get noisy at nite as the area turns into a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrylerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear LarryLerner,

We'll change the TV channels for you! Thanks for your kind feedback about our team and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a great time at the hotel this last week 5 9 2013.....I stayed in a spa room with a huge 2 person very deep jetted hot tub....Beds were very comfortable and room was very clean.....The staff addresses you by name when possible.....They truly act like they like their job and are having fun working there...It is a great environment and located super close to gas lamp fun....Hope you have a great experience there too...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skipmontesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear SkipMontesjr.

There's no better review I like to read than the wonderful team we have getting recognized. Thanks so much for doing that! They do an amazing job day in and day out and we're enormously proud of them. Have a great spring, and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I really liked this hotel. It had the hip, fun feel of a boutique hotel without sacrificing any of the service and amenities of a larger hotel. Great to have our conference there because nearly all of the guests were part of the conference. Loved the rooftop bar where we had a reception. Could use a couple more elliptical a in the fitness room - one is overused.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Michael W,

Thanks for joining us, we truly appreciate the feedback I'm glad we were able to deliver for your conference, you'll have to tell them to get back soon! I'm also grateful for the comments about the fitness center. It's our goal to add a couple of pieces up there in the coming year to round it out. Thanks again and please come back soon,

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a romantic getaway. I adore Kimpton hotels, but this one was past its prime, unfortunately. Our room appeared as if a party was held there the night prior; dented tv, scuffed furniture, stained suede couches & chairs. Extremely dirty windows. If we were there longer than one night, i would have canceled our reservation & found another hotel. If a bit more attention to detail was made, this place could be amazing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank donnainnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Donnainnapoli,

Thanks for your feedback, I'm sorry that you found us not looking our best! We work very hard to keep our property in tip top shape and are in the preliminary stages of discussing a renovation for the property. We hope to get one going by next year to keep us to the level you expect. Thanks again for the feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you stay on a Friday or Saturday night, ask for a room on a higher floor or a room NOT overlooking pool. Beautiful pool and out door patio area but the music is very loud and it is played very late.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Donnats,

Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate you weighing in on your visit. Our music at the pool usually goes down around 11pm, but we'll make sure we stay on top of it. Feel free to always request a quieter room on a high floor or on the back side of the building and we'll be glad to help.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Order a humidifier and was given a dirty black filter!!! That is nasty not only that I could of been sick! I was told when I took picture down to front desk thats nasty but were only 4 star hotel...........................wow I work in las Vegas at a 5 star hotel at the bell desk and has never heard anything like that poor service should be no star hotel!!! I wish I was a hotel shopper undercover!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sbima1,

That's awful, apologies for that experience! Our expectation is top flight service regardless of what level the hotel is. I've looped our Housekeeping and Engineering teams in and we'll get all of our units inspected. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, we'll make it right!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,110 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing