We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, but needs some TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #47 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, but needs some TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for a romantic getaway. I adore Kimpton hotels, but this one was past its prime, unfortunately. Our room appeared as if a party was held there the night prior; dented tv, scuffed furniture, stained suede couches & chairs. Extremely dirty windows. If we were there longer than one night, i would have canceled our reservation & found another hotel. If a bit more attention to detail was made, this place could be amazing.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank donnainnapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Donnainnapoli,

Thanks for your feedback, I'm sorry that you found us not looking our best! We work very hard to keep our property in tip top shape and are in the preliminary stages of discussing a renovation for the property. We hope to get one going by next year to keep us to the level you expect. Thanks again for the feedback and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    557
    156
    85
    38
See reviews for
226
736
95
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you stay on a Friday or Saturday night, ask for a room on a higher floor or a room NOT overlooking pool. Beautiful pool and out door patio area but the music is very loud and it is played very late.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Donnats,

Thanks for the feedback, I appreciate you weighing in on your visit. Our music at the pool usually goes down around 11pm, but we'll make sure we stay on top of it. Feel free to always request a quieter room on a high floor or on the back side of the building and we'll be glad to help.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Order a humidifier and was given a dirty black filter!!! That is nasty not only that I could of been sick! I was told when I took picture down to front desk thats nasty but were only 4 star hotel...........................wow I work in las Vegas at a 5 star hotel at the bell desk and has never heard anything like that poor service should be no star hotel!!! I wish I was a hotel shopper undercover!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sbima1,

That's awful, apologies for that experience! Our expectation is top flight service regardless of what level the hotel is. I've looped our Housekeeping and Engineering teams in and we'll get all of our units inspected. Thanks for bringing it to my attention, we'll make it right!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had to stay here for a business meeting, and what a lovely hotel experience! I had a beautiful room, yoga mat delivered upon request, excellent location to many nice restaurants and the Convention Center.
They have a little wine and appetizer event in the afternoon!

Room Tip: I had a great room. And, coffee and tea on the way out, wine and appetizers on the way in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbwilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear GBWilkin,

Thanks so much for your feedback! I'm happy we were able to make your business travel feel a little more like home. Have a great spring, and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for a conference, but the hotel was more for people having a party. The hotel has a marvelous outdoor pool area on the 3rd floor, which is really fantastic. But if you have a room towards this area, dont bother for an early night. We tried to get a more quiet room, a change to the top floor did help a little. The location is very good. Clean rooms, good beds. A luxery hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank half62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Half62,

I'm glad you joined us and my apologies for the lively atmosphere. It's our goal to have a vibrant environment that matches the spirit of the Gaslamp but we don't want that to cost anyone a night's sleep! If you come back please note a request for a quieter room away from the pool and 6th Avenue and we'll be glad to assist. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Solamar is a calm and welcoming oasis in San Diego's Gas Light District. A couple of blocks from Petco Field. A short bike ride to the bike paths along the bay. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. Comfortable beds, great restaurants (Jsix and Lounge6). A great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheevisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Cheevisor,

Thanks for joining us and thanks for the feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed yourself in our home. Please come back soon, the weather only continues to get better in the Gaslamp.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We traveled from Ontario Canada. We stayed at the Solamar Kimpton for 3 nights with friends at the end of a 2 week Pacific Coast Highway trip . Perfect location. The staff could not have been better. They could not do enough for the guests. Complimentary wine reception for all guests every night from 5 - 6. Rooms were incredible. Great 4th floor pool/bar lounge. Hats off to the General Manager Rob.Talked with all the guests. He was hands on. Special thank you to Gabby, Trevor and my valet buddy Jim. Would certainly recommend Kimpton Hotels. We also had the same treatment at the Best Western Kimpton Tuscan Inn San Francisco. Keep up the good work Kimpton. Some reviews say the parking is expensive at the Kimpton. Just for the record. Parking is at a premium in San Diego. Every hotel and street parking lot I checked all had the same parking rates within $5 of each other. Thx again for making San Diego a great memory. Phil

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear PhilRetired,

What a pleasure hosting you! Thanks very much for the kind words about our property and of course our wonderful team. Jim, Trevor and Gabby do an amazing job for us day in an day out; we're extremely lucky to have them. Take care and please come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,431 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz San Diego
Andaz San Diego
#67 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,714 reviews
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel’s coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing