We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great home base”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Smack dab in the middle of the Gas Lamp District, his was a perfect launching point for the conference we attended as well as shopping, dining and a drink or two - all within walking distance. We were able to catch the train to Old Town and could've ridden up the coast as far as Oceanside n he Coaster. The hotel itself was welcoming, comfortable and everyone was friendly and helpful. Also pet friendly if your four legged family member is traveling with you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear AZMagpie,

Thanks so much for joining us and your kind words. Also very happy to hear that you had a chance to check out Old Town, one of the most historic districts of our beautiful city! Please come back soon and bring your pet!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    600
    167
    89
    41
See reviews for
250
790
100
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston Ma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

great place -- lots of interesting restaurants and shops nearby -
like all Kimpton's this place is hip and stylish -- very comfortable rooms, good restaurant and super clean
-- wonderful staff - great service -- hotel is pet friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRJBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear RRJBoston,

Thanks for the kind words, especially about our staff. Please come back soon, it looks like it's been a while for you!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel brings us back often as the staff is outstanding. The location is perfect as it is within walking distance of anyplace downtown yet away from all the noise of the hotels on Broadway or Harbor Boulevard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, north side of the building, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msb1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear msb1323,

What a terrific review! Thanks so much for joining us and your kind words. It's a pleasure to welcome back repeat guests, we truly appreciate your loyalty. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Had been to San Diego for a show and stayed 3 nights at the Solamar.
Hotel is next to Pedco Park and convention center in the middle of Gaslamp Quarter. So no need for a car, evenmore they charge USD 40 per car and overnight stay. Unmatched! Next time I'll park the car in one the parking slots around the hotel accepting a little walk with my luggage.
Welcome at the check-in desk was very pleasant. Room was propper offering all amenities you can expect within this hotel level. I had a room on the fifth floor located directly to their roof bar and pool. I was happy to be able to open the window and enjoy the fresh air. I didn't mind about people cheating and laughing during the night but keep it in mind just in case you want a silent room.
Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant J-Six. Food was good, but service slow and inattentive.
Will come back again anyway during my next stay to San Diego.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Andreas H,

Thanks so much for your comments, we truly appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. I was quite happy to read the kind words about our team at the desk, although I apologize that we let you down during your breakfast experience. We want to be hitting on all cylinders during your visit with us and I'm sorry that you impacted by less than stellar dining. I also appreciate the feedback about parking. We do regularly check our parking prices to ensure that they're in line with other hotels and parking spaces that offer the same service levels as we do. We offer enclosed, secure, valet parking with unlimited 'In and Out', meaning you can come and go as you please without additional charges. An unsecured, open lot will certainly be cheaper, although do be warned that many of them chain up the entrance at night. A little odd, as it won't keep anyone out but it will certainly keep you in until they get back! We've had several guests that had that unfortunate experience. We're happy to help in any case though; if you chose to check out other areas to park feel free in coming to the hotel unloading your luggage and we'll hold it while you park the car. We want to make it as easy as possible for you while you're with us. Thanks again for your loyalty and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Gaslamp District in San Diego is a wonderful spot to visit, especially for dining. And some of the shops are unique. But at night it can get crazy and very crowded. That is why this hotel is a real find in these quarters. While its location makes everything in the Gaslamp District easily accessible on foot, it offers a respite from the chaos if you just want to relax. The outdoor pool and bar on the fourth floor are nicely laid out and maintained, and there are shaded cabanas that you can lounge in if you need to get out of the sun. It can get a bit crowded during the day, but during our stay it was not so crowded that you couldn't find some place to plant yourself, have a drink, and read or just be lazy.
The rooms are nicely maintained and the decor is pleasant. We were on the top floor (as requested) and our view of the city and the fourth floor pool area as well as a peek at the bay made for a nice view. (Not all the rooms have this view though.) BTW, the windows open for fresh air--something you don't always get in a hotel room.
If you're a Kimpton member there are a few perks--free wifi, a paper delivered at the door, and a $10 credit for the in-room bar. Unfortunately, we didn't get the last two and that was a bummer--an oversight on the part of the hotel. But that was the only downside and not enough to reduce the rating.
We were impressed by the room's insulation from noise. I'm not sure if that would be different the closer your floor is to the pool area, but six floors above it with the window closed we heard nothing from outside nor from neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: You might want to request a high floor with a view that looks toward 5th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear DocOK,

Thanks for the kind words! It's wonderful to hear that we're a quiet harbor in the midst of all the activity in the Gaslamp. We do our best to provide a tranquil space, while always ready to point out a great local option for fun too. Apologies on the lack of oversight from us on the paper and Raid the Minibar. We'll make sure we reiterate the importance of that to our team. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just spent 5 days at Hotel Solamar- great location in gas lamp area- hotel was 1st class all round and very good value compared to other hotels in the area. grab happy hour at the bar half price 5-7pm . Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Daniel O,

Great to hear, thanks so much for joining us and come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is our second visit to the hotel. The staff are absolutely great and love the pet friendly environment, although we do not have a dog. Easy walk to lots of restaurants and shops. The rooms are very nice. Pool area looked nice, but too cold for us to venture into the water.

Room Tip: Top floors have a great view. On Saturday nights, do not want the side facing the bar across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatnapJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear CatnapJK,

We love you too! Glad you enjoyed the famous Gaslamp, but apologies it wasn't as warm as it normally is. You need to come back here soon, the weather continues to get better. This week it's going to be 70* and sunny!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,047 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing