We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$261
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$345
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$219
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$149
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$183
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$310
$290
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
1,183
648
189
97
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,183
648
189
97
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine hourpetco parkgaslamp districtjsix restaurantwine receptionconvention centerrooftop poolcomplimentary winemini barfree happy hourfourth floorthe gas lamp districtevery eveningrestaurants and barsovernight parkingvalet parkingper night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,161 - 1,166 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel brings us back often as the staff is outstanding. The location is perfect as it is within walking distance of anyplace downtown yet away from all the noise of the hotels on Broadway or Harbor Boulevard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor, north side of the building, away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msb1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear msb1323,

What a terrific review! Thanks so much for joining us and your kind words. It's a pleasure to welcome back repeat guests, we truly appreciate your loyalty. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had been to San Diego for a show and stayed 3 nights at the Solamar.
Hotel is next to Pedco Park and convention center in the middle of Gaslamp Quarter. So no need for a car, evenmore they charge USD 40 per car and overnight stay. Unmatched! Next time I'll park the car in one the parking slots around the hotel accepting a little walk with my luggage.
Welcome at the check-in desk was very pleasant. Room was propper offering all amenities you can expect within this hotel level. I had a room on the fifth floor located directly to their roof bar and pool. I was happy to be able to open the window and enjoy the fresh air. I didn't mind about people cheating and laughing during the night but keep it in mind just in case you want a silent room.
Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant J-Six. Food was good, but service slow and inattentive.
Will come back again anyway during my next stay to San Diego.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Andreas H,

Thanks so much for your comments, we truly appreciate your feedback on your stay with us. I was quite happy to read the kind words about our team at the desk, although I apologize that we let you down during your breakfast experience. We want to be hitting on all cylinders during your visit with us and I'm sorry that you impacted by less than stellar dining. I also appreciate the feedback about parking. We do regularly check our parking prices to ensure that they're in line with other hotels and parking spaces that offer the same service levels as we do. We offer enclosed, secure, valet parking with unlimited 'In and Out', meaning you can come and go as you please without additional charges. An unsecured, open lot will certainly be cheaper, although do be warned that many of them chain up the entrance at night. A little odd, as it won't keep anyone out but it will certainly keep you in until they get back! We've had several guests that had that unfortunate experience. We're happy to help in any case though; if you chose to check out other areas to park feel free in coming to the hotel unloading your luggage and we'll hold it while you park the car. We want to make it as easy as possible for you while you're with us. Thanks again for your loyalty and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Gaslamp District in San Diego is a wonderful spot to visit, especially for dining. And some of the shops are unique. But at night it can get crazy and very crowded. That is why this hotel is a real find in these quarters. While its location makes everything in the Gaslamp District easily accessible on foot, it offers a respite from the chaos if you just want to relax. The outdoor pool and bar on the fourth floor are nicely laid out and maintained, and there are shaded cabanas that you can lounge in if you need to get out of the sun. It can get a bit crowded during the day, but during our stay it was not so crowded that you couldn't find some place to plant yourself, have a drink, and read or just be lazy.
The rooms are nicely maintained and the decor is pleasant. We were on the top floor (as requested) and our view of the city and the fourth floor pool area as well as a peek at the bay made for a nice view. (Not all the rooms have this view though.) BTW, the windows open for fresh air--something you don't always get in a hotel room.
If you're a Kimpton member there are a few perks--free wifi, a paper delivered at the door, and a $10 credit for the in-room bar. Unfortunately, we didn't get the last two and that was a bummer--an oversight on the part of the hotel. But that was the only downside and not enough to reduce the rating.
We were impressed by the room's insulation from noise. I'm not sure if that would be different the closer your floor is to the pool area, but six floors above it with the window closed we heard nothing from outside nor from neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: You might want to request a high floor with a view that looks toward 5th street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocOk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear DocOK,

Thanks for the kind words! It's wonderful to hear that we're a quiet harbor in the midst of all the activity in the Gaslamp. We do our best to provide a tranquil space, while always ready to point out a great local option for fun too. Apologies on the lack of oversight from us on the paper and Raid the Minibar. We'll make sure we reiterate the importance of that to our team. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just spent 5 days at Hotel Solamar- great location in gas lamp area- hotel was 1st class all round and very good value compared to other hotels in the area. grab happy hour at the bar half price 5-7pm . Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Daniel O,

Great to hear, thanks so much for joining us and come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is our second visit to the hotel. The staff are absolutely great and love the pet friendly environment, although we do not have a dog. Easy walk to lots of restaurants and shops. The rooms are very nice. Pool area looked nice, but too cold for us to venture into the water.

Room Tip: Top floors have a great view. On Saturday nights, do not want the side facing the bar across the street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatnapJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear CatnapJK,

We love you too! Glad you enjoyed the famous Gaslamp, but apologies it wasn't as warm as it normally is. You need to come back here soon, the weather continues to get better. This week it's going to be 70* and sunny!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews