We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just spent 5 days at Hotel Solamar- great location in gas lamp area- hotel was 1st class all round and very good value compared to other hotels in the area. grab happy hour at the bar half price 5-7pm . Will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Daniel O,

Great to hear, thanks so much for joining us and come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is our second visit to the hotel. The staff are absolutely great and love the pet friendly environment, although we do not have a dog. Easy walk to lots of restaurants and shops. The rooms are very nice. Pool area looked nice, but too cold for us to venture into the water.

Room Tip: Top floors have a great view. On Saturday nights, do not want the side facing the bar across the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatnapJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear CatnapJK,

We love you too! Glad you enjoyed the famous Gaslamp, but apologies it wasn't as warm as it normally is. You need to come back here soon, the weather continues to get better. This week it's going to be 70* and sunny!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Second trip to San Diego on business in less than 2 weeks...

San Diego is a fabulous place, but after two trips in less than 2 weeks...so is home.

Anyway, the Hotel Solamar did not disappoint. The rooms are quiet, even when drunk neighbors come home after the bars close and continue to party it up. The showers have hot water and water pressure...and they drain well. No standing in two inches of your own bath water. Yay! Finally, a hotel that recognizes how much sense it makes to put the shower gel, shampoo, and conditioner in larger refillable containers mounted to the shower wall. No packaging waste that goes straight to the landfill.

Friendly staff. Helpful. Great service.

Dog-friendly. Major plus...even though we had to leave our pooches at home on this trip.

Location, location, location. Close proximity to Petco Park and the Convention Center.

Parking is a bit steep ($40 a night)...but I expect it is the going rate (or close to it) in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myleeann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Myleeann,

Thanks for your kind feedback and our apologies for the noise from your neighbors. Glad to hear it didn't impact your stay. You're correct, we pulled the amenity bottles from the property and put in high end pump dispensers. It's the same great product (Gilchrist & Soames), but we're not sending thousands of bottles to recycling bins. We're very proud of it. Take care and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first stay at a Kimpton and we were completely satisfied. Kimpton was fortunate to purchase this property a couple years ago and took advantage of the Millions of $'s in upgrades the former owner had recently renovated.
Dark wood floors, marble floors in the bathrooms some with seperate shower and jacuzzi tubs featuring walls of stone. Comfy beds and linens. A very unique (and heavy) swing out giant entry door leads you to the check in desk , warm colors and a Hip lounge Vibe. This theme is repeated in the bar, lounge and restaurant. Staff are young and engaging.Bellmen enthusiastically greeted us when we arrived from our evening adventures and for our morning walk for coffee.
A great touch was the complimentary wine tasting in the lounge , it was a great start to getting out for the evening. Make sure to take care of the host. We have stayed in most of the chain and boutique hotels in the gaslamp district (Kimpton is on the more inland side of this district) the location makes for a slightly more quiet stay ,as the street revelery on the weekends is a few blocks away. Great stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: This Kimpton has a very reasonable upgrade policy. Politely ask for their availability and you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear James P,

Thanks, it's always rewarding to know we nailed it for a first time visitor! I also appreciate the kind words about our look and design. We're in initial discussions regarding a refresh to our hotel so the next year or two looks very exciting for us. Thanks again and please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This great Kimpton hotel is in the heart of San Diego Gaslamp district. Everything is walking distance close. The Kimpton Pet program is what rings us back everytime.. Hotel treats your pets unlike any other hotel in the nation. Highly recommend for stays in San Diego..

Room Tip: San Diego is a vibrant town and has street noise .. high floor rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaspernRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear JaspernRiley,

Thanks for staying with us, we appreciate the kind feedback! Bring the boys back anytime, I know our Bell / Door team enjoyed playing with them! Take care and come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently had an excellent stay recently at Hotel Solomar. Great location downtown and very pet friendly. The front desk staff were great and even watched my dog during our dinner. Wine hour and the gifts in our hotel room at check-in was awesome as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Kendall S,

Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. My thanks as well for recognizing the work of our wonderful Front Desk team. I'm sure they enjoyed watching your dog for you as well! Please come back soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my second stay at the Hotel Solamar, and it was every bit as good as my first. The hotel's location is excellent, right in the Gaslamp Quarter, near Petco Park and the convention center. I love the fourth floor pool/bar. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable. However, what I like most is the service. The employees are extremely friendly and helpful. Example: I was going to take a taxi up to the Hillcrest neighborhood, and a hotel employee offered to drive me in the hotel's van--and pick me up later, too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a little more of a view and tend to be quieter from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesAMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear JamesAMartin,

What a great review, thanks so much! I truly appreciate your kind words about our Bell staff, they're an amazing group of individuals and we're very happy to have them as part of our team. Thanks again and please come back for visit # 3!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a very Kimpton Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#21 of 286 in San Diego
4,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
461 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $179 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, indulge and recharge at this San Diego hotel. We gravitate toward folks who thrive when feeling truly connected to a place and its unique intricacies, quirks and hidden treasures. In San Diego’s emerging East Village Gaslamp Quarter, Kimpton Solamar Hotel offers an energetic vibe with rich décor. Our design aesthetic has been heavily inspired by the city’s personality as well as early Spanish influences. Our regal-meets-vibrant, urban refuge provides modern comfort, a rooftop pool oasis, dazzling dining destinations, genuinely engaged service, plus a central location ideal for exploring some of the city’s latest dining trends and sizzling nightlife options. Not to mention the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park - home of the Padres - located just steps away. It turns out our team members like to stay in the know, too, so let’s explore this sun-kissed town together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing