We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location in a gorgeous city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #41 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant location in a gorgeous city!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights to end my honeymoon and I wasn't disappointed. We were in a 5 star Vegas hotel before coming here so we had to compare, but you can't really compare these hotels. For this city this is a great hotel. The location is fantastic on 6th, close to all bars and restaurants on 5th and 4th. San Diego is a brilliant, quirky destination, just like this hotel. A pet friendly hotel, where else wud u find it! We were on a pet free floor though and our room was surely a pet free zone always.
On check in the lady behind the desk was very relaxed, but so helpful, not the usual over the top fake friendliness that hotel guests sometimes experience Lots of Relevent info and help was given.
The room itself was fine, like I said we had just come from Vegas! I do think its a little pricey but u pay for the location and so it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneyMcIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear JayneyMcIreland,

Thanks very much for joining us and congratulations on your wedding! We're always quite honored to have someone trust us with a milestone memory. Come back for your first Anniversary!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    607
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
264
802
100
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Call me spoiled. My recent stay at te Solamar left me flat. After reading the reviews here especially the ones where credit challenged guests were upgraded to suites(?????). It leaves me rethinking my lodging choices in San Diego. As a Kimpton Inner Circle Member, I guess I've come to expect more. No negatives for the property. Clean room and nice staff. The Solamar needs to show some love to the Inner Circle.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank cabogolf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Cabogolf19,

Your loyalty means everything to us and we're very sorry to have let you down! Please contact me at the hotel at your earliest convenience so we can work to restore your trust.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Greeted by friendly and helpful valet parking staff. Just missed the complimentary wine hour upon arrival, however at check-in, the friendly staff member gave us vouchers for a free glass of wine in the attached restaurant. My room was a King Suite, with large living area, fully stocked "honor" bar. Large king bedroom and attached bathroom with giant whirlpool tub. Attached private patio was a bonus.

Super clean, comfortable, modern, friendly. Location is close to convention center and Gaslamp district.

My only complaint is $40.00/night parking after paying $250/night for my room.

Room Tip: Loved room #403
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Greg C,

Thanks for staying with us and Happy New Year! Hope to see you back in 2013, we'll have room 403 waiting!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

How have I never stayed at a Kimpton Property before? This place was awesome.

1. Spacious room including a large bathroom with cool giant whirlpool tub. Decor was sort of modern with hint of cool farmhouse ... the bathroom had a opening around the big tub so that you could sit in the tub and watch TV in the room. For privacy there was a white sliding wood door that closed off this open from the room (hence the country part - just looked this way against the blue wall). Also, no worries the bathroom also had a regular door for entering/exiting.

2. Amazing perks - Became an in-touch member (free) when I made my reservation and benefited from the free WiFi (decent speed too). Wine hour at night and complementary coffee/tea/hot cocoa in the lobby in them morning. Newspaper also came with my room and ample copies in the lobby.

3. Fantastic staff - Gentleman at the front desk who processed my check-in was working many of the nights during my stay. He always addressed me by name as I passed through the lobby and asked if I needed anything. During my stay I had two random requests (superglue for a broken piece of jewelry and tape for a package I needed to ship) -- the staff at the front desk was promptly able to help with both of these requests and didn't act like they were being "put out" by doing so... they seemed genuinely happy to help.

Hotel Solamar may have converted me into a Kimpton convert ... I will certainly look for this brand when booking any future trips.

PS - It is also pet friendly for those who want to travel with Fido. Although it didn't matter to me either way -- I ended up on a pet-free floor and am sure those who are more pet-averse can inquire about rooms on these floors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klekolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Klelolo,

Thanks for the detail, we really appreciate the time you took to let us know how we're doing. We're excited that we've converted you to Kimpton! Come back and see us again and have a wonderful holiday season from all of us at the Solamar.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This boutique hotel has a beautiful and elegant living room -like lobby where they apparently have a free wine hour from 5-6 (we just missed it!). The rooms are stylish and interesting, with great perks like a wet bar and microbrews in the mini bar. The hotel is right in the gas lamp district, just a couple of blocks from the ballpark and the trolley line. My only complaint was that the thermostat automatically reverted from what I set it to, to 72 degrees, twice. Once was in the middle of the night and I had to change it because I was sleeping with a down comforter and got too hot. This makes me grumpy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinglefloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Dinglefloyd,

Thanks for joining us! Appreciate the kind words about our beautiful hotel. Apologies for the frustration with the thermostat. It's a special energy efficient model that will hibernate if it doesn't sense someone is in the room. Currently it goes into sleep mode if no one moves for two hours. We'll get it changed to four hours. This should correct the issue. Thanks again and come back soon, hopefully you'll make it to Wine Hour.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I really really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Solamar! First and foremost, they had a 12-12-12 deal where you pay $12 for overnight parking, normally $40, $12 food and beverage credit, $12 In Room credit for minibar or movies, 20% off best available rate of deluxe accomodations. From the moment I got there, I was impressed. The pictures online looked like what I saw in person. Joseph checked me in and I had some issues with my credit card so he did a workaround to get an approval for the amount of the room, plus tax, less the incidentals and I had to pay $50 cash for the incidental deposit. Approved and checked in!!! He also said that he would upgrade my spa corner room to a suite for FREE! Needless to say I was so excited because I was celebrating a special night, which I had not even mentioned when making my reservations...so this was a very special treat! The room was great! I really enjoyed the jacuzzi bath. It was HUGE! although I couldn't find the buttons to turn on the jets but regardless I enjoyed soaking in that tub. I ordered room service and asked if they had chocolate covered strawberries and 2 champagne flutes. He said no chocolate covered strawberries and sounded sad that he couldn't provide that for me. However, when he arrived, I was extemely surprised to see them on the tray. He said I sounded like I was doing something special so he made them up for me. I was so happy! They are my favorite dessert!!! We also made small talk about the music I had playing in the background. All of the staff that I ran into at this hotel seemed very personable and easy to talk to...a lot like me so it was nice that this evening was turning out to be much more than I had expected. My only fault was not spending more time there...but I will be back!

Room Tip: Suite was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sandra,

Wow, what a wonderful review! Thanks for celebrating with us; we're always honored when someone trusts a milestone event in their lives with us. We also really appreciate the kind works about Joseph, he always goes the extra mile! Come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is very clean and beautiful hotel, but I would say it's rather for the yong people.
The famous Gaslamp qurter is a few minutes walk from the hotel, so no need to think about the dinner tonight.
Our room was the highest floor and we could see the Petco Park from the room !
we could enjoy some wines and other beverages at the lobby.

The lobby and the living room (near the lobby) was very beautiful and artistic.
Also the room is very clean and comfortable, there are lots of drinks and foods at the mini bar.
You should try animal-print bathrobe if you visit this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cocohoisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear cocohoisam,

What a great review, thanks so much for joining us! I'm happy you made it to our famous Wine Hour and that you enjoyed our leopard robes. Next time combine both and come to wine hour in the robe! That happens pretty regularly actually and we love it. Thanks again and come see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,122 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,433 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing