We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #43 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I'm a big fan of Kimpton hotels. This was very good but not the absolute best one I've stayed in.

-The room was spacious and modern
-Really nice bathroom with some counter space
-No cotton swabs in bathroom
-No coffee maker in room - coffee was available around 5:45 in the lobby
-Early breakfast options are very limited for room service. Before 6:30 AM there are just a few cold entrees available such as cereal. The yogurt with fruit and housemade granola was very good, though.
-Very friendly front desk and valet staff

Overall would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FancyBirthday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear FancyBirthday,

Appreciate the comments! I know there's so many great Kimptons to choose from so I'm grateful for the feedback on how we can work to be your favorite. Regarding the cotton swabs and coffee makers, we certainly have those as part of our 'Forgot It, We Got It' program. Simply call and we'll run them up! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon, we'll have the coffee ready!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    588
    162
    88
    40
See reviews for
241
772
100
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed at Solamar for 5 days on business. Loved the location, the friendly staff, the morning coffee, tea, hot chocolate and evening wine and snacks. The only negative was pool heating mechanism was broken during the visit so I could not use the pool :(

Room Tip: If you don't like dogs (which are permitted), choose a floor that is "canine-free"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terpfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear TerpFamily,

Thanks for joining us this past week. We're very happy you had a chance to join us for our afternoon wine hour and in the morning for our famous hot chocolate. I did want to apologize for the challenges regarding the pool. Our heater died and it took our vendor a couple of days extra to get a replacement shipped in. It's now working properly, so it'll be ready to go for your next visit!

Thanks again, and Fear the Turtle!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. Everyone gave excellent service. This hotel is in a great location in the Gaslamp District. It is walking distance to a lot of great restaurants! Be aware that they charge quite a bit for parking..I believe it is about $40 a night. Other than that, my husband and I plan to stay at this hotel whenever we visit the area. Also, it comes with free Wifi which was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesushi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear BlueSushi76,

So glad you made it! We're very happy that you enjoyed yourself and doubly excited that you want to come back! I hope you can make it back to see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Excellent hotel with very friendly employees. Great location within easy walking distance of the convention center and in the midst of many excellent restaurants. The business center consisted of a computer and printer in a hallway but it all worked first rate. Very nicely appointed room. The wine and cheese at happy hour was an very nice feature. Excellent experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear David N,

Thank you, we never tire of hearing that about our hotel and team! We're thrilled you had a good time in our home and I hope you make it back soon. We'll have a glass of wine waiting!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just stayed for a second time at this hotel in the San Diego Gaslamp District and it is consistently good. The staff is particularly friendly and helpful and Kimptom offers its guests lots of great perks. There is free wireless internet for their InTouch members and nightly wine and cheese at happy hour. A coffee/tea/hot chocolate set-up awaits hotel guests in the lobby each morning and the rooms come with a fully stocked mini-bar (lots of choices and some unusual ones that you rarely see in hotels). It is a dog-friendly hotel (much more of this kind of thing in San Diego than other cities, I've observed) and mere walking distance to the convention center. It's right in the middle of everything. There is a wonderful fitness center (with hula hoops and jump ropes in addition to the usual equipment) and pool. A major negative: very expensive parking at $40 per day. A minor negative: no in-room coffee making.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are particularly nice. Rooms on 6th Ave can be a little noisier than other parts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuntressCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear HuntressCA,

Thanks for the great comments! We appreciate the kind words about our location, great amenities and wonderful team. I'm very happy you found the Hula Hoops! They're a fun part of our wellness culture.

Regarding the parking, our parking costs include the Valet service, as well as unlimited 'In and Out' meaning you can take your car whenever you want without additional fees. Your car will always remain safe, secure and accessible in our covered parking. That said, we do want to make sure we remain competitive, so we do regular parking rate surveys on the area and other hotels (in fact, we did one this month). We've found that we're competitive to the other hotels in our area. There certainly are less expensive options in the area, but they won't necessarily come with the security and convenience.

Thanks again for the feedback, come back and see us soon.

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location within the Gaslamp District. Fabulous staff!! We stayed here over Thanksgiving and before we even arrived, I was emailed a list of the local Thanksgiving meal options in the area. Upon our arrival, the location, staff and dog friendly amenities exceeded our expectation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Amandaws,

Thanks for spending the holiday with us! It's always a pleasure to have more family around. Glad to hear we were also able to help select good local options to celebrate. Thanks again and come back soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Level Contributor
296 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Four of us met at the Hotel Solamar for Thanksgiving Day and weeked. Great location for easy access to the Gaslamp District. Very friendly staff. They let us check in at noon on Thanksgiving day. We requested a non-pet floor. They gave us top floor rooms with a view of the City, waterfront, and pool area. Rooms were a little small but very nice. The morning coffee bar was nice. The evening wine reception was OK. We didn't really like the wine the served. Areas that they could improve: Valet parking was expenisve $40. Beds and pillows were a little hard. We didn't really care for the number of pets in the hotel. We didn't really mind the small dogs. However, some people had three great danes walking around the lobby with them, which was a distraction from the hotel ambiance for us. At least we had rooms on a non-pet floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haztaz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hannigan, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Haztaz69,

Thanks for the comments, We really appreciate your joining us for the holidays. While I'm happy about the kind words about our great team, I'm especially grateful for the feedback about where we can improve. Regarding the parking, our parking costs include the Valet service, as well as unlimited 'In and Out' meaning you can take your car whenever you want without additional fees. Your car will always remain safe, secure and accessible in our covered parking.

That said, we do want to make sure we remain competitive, so we do regular parking rate surveys on the area and other hotels (in fact, we did one this month). We've found that we're competitive to the other hotels in our area. There certainly are less expensive options in the area, but they won't necessarily come with the security and convenience.

Hope that helps, thanks so much for joining us and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon!

Robert
General Manager
Hotel Solamar - a Kimpton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,881 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,055 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing