We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the solamar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 26, 2008

last year for the dreaded 50th birthday, i was fortunate enough to be able to stay at hotel solamar.
from the minute we arrived i just knew it was going to be a fabulous weekend. the room was great, the bathroom was uber clean and swank. we wasted no time in heading to the pool bar, where we were served by a cheerful and helpful barman. as the sun went down the pool bar area morphed into a very pleasant rooftop lounge bar. it was extremely relaxing and only served to fill me with anticipation of what was to come. sun,swimming,
lazing by the pool all day, plenty of available refeshments just a few short steps from my cabana poolside ,to the bar ,where you would be served almost anything your heart desires, witha smile i might add!
and if that wasnt enough, a free wine tasting in the lobby at 5pm each evening was there for the taking.
beautiful surroundings, relaxing atmosphere, whats not to love?
i hope to be able to return to solamar in the near future and enjoy a repeat performance. thank you for helping to make the big 5 o a positive one. lili in tucson

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank solamarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,889 - 1,895 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2008

Great place - clean and friendly. This is a pet friendly hotel - so we brought along our dog. Petco park is 1 block down and they have a leash-free dog park which was great for free-time and potty-time for our doggie.

The pool was heated and nice. Not a ton of seating - but enough to get by. Seems like a younger crowd when we were there, but everyone was friendly and loved our toddler. They have a complimentary wine hour in the evening and coffee in the morning.

Overall - a great stay. Right in downtown - close to EVERYTHING - especially the stadium if you go for a Padres game.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Zacloed1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

The room was beautiful, overlooking the pool area. Unfortunately, we were not warned that they run a nightclub on weekends, and play load dance music until 2:00 am. The next morning we requested our room be changed to a room away from the pool area. They moved us, but downsized us to a smaller, less delux room.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank She_laughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Normally we avoid hotel restaurants but hearing good reviews we gave it a try. It was nothing short of exceptional! If you don't go to JSix you're missing out. Hotel is nicely done, rooms are comtemporary and it's a matter of taste. Free internet and complimenary wine are nice features. The pool and bar area with the firepits is a nice touch....very cosmopolitian in feel.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Borntotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

I arrived from London tired, dirty and braindead. I was in San Diego for a meeting and was booked into the nearby Omni for all but the first night. Lucky me that I had one night in the Solamar! Check in was easy-peasy and was upgraded to a luxury room (just because!). The room was wonderful - bedding comfortable, bathroom spacious, and the (free) wireless was superfast. The next morning I ordered breakfast from room service (egg white omelet with spinach and mushrooms) and it was quick and delicious. Check out was simple and they even pointed the way to the Omni down the street (the Omni was perfectly fine... but paled in comparison to the Solamar).

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dixie_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Solamar for a work meeting. I am a Kimpton fan and was looking forward to checking out a new (for me) property. My assessment - Solamar is good, but a little shy of great.

The front desk staff was quite friendly during check in, which was first thing in the morning (while I was trying to listen to a conference call). Quick and efficient. And later quite helpful when I needed to print out my boarding pass for the next morning (see below).

My room was nice, not unexpected nor dissimilar from other Kimptons. Free wireless, which was actually fast. Overall good space for working and relaxing. And an ourdoor seating area to boot.

Public space was fine. We had a group dinner by the pool (which is on the 4th floor), which was great. Nice, though partially blocked, views. Attentive service. Food was even good.

So why not great? A few nits:

My room was right by the pool bar, which was loud until around midnight. Probably my fault for not asking to be moved.

The workout room was 24 hour access, but one needed to be let in before 7 am. Why? "Security reasons", although the room is on the 4th floor. And I managed to lock myself outside after my workout, requiring me to find a side elevator and reenter the hotel via the restaurant because there are no phones outside.

I went into the business center to print my boarding pass. They wanted $12 to access the Internet, even though wireless is free throughout the hotel. Again, the front desk staff was more than happy to comply.

Morning coffee service (6 am in the lobby) never appeared.

I would stay there again. In fact debating booking a room for the family so we can see a Padres game this summer as well as play in one of our favorite California big cities. But I'd go in knowing what the downsides are.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank Spamstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My girlfriend and I planned a girls' weekend in SD and we enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The only glitch was that I had called in advance to request a room with double beds and the receptionist confirmed, but when we checked in the following day they said that if you book through hotwire you only get the option of a room with a king bed.

The hotel is nicely decorated and very clean. It is a non-smoking hotel. We don't like pets but pets are allowed at this hotel, they have managed to keep it very clean and odor-free. Our room was very clean and also nicely decorated. And the very best of all, they have a nightly wine hour with your choice of red or white wine.

Location is great. The immediate surrounding area isn't really pretty..a parking lot and some empty commerical buildings but within walking distance to Gaslamp, the Marina, the ball park, and Horton Plaza. Plenty of restuarants and bars near by to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aurorabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
464 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $191 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore, indulge and recharge at this San Diego hotel. We gravitate toward folks who thrive when feeling truly connected to a place and its unique intricacies, quirks and hidden treasures. In San Diego’s emerging East Village Gaslamp Quarter, Kimpton Solamar Hotel offers an energetic vibe with rich décor. Our design aesthetic has been heavily inspired by the city’s personality as well as early Spanish influences. Our regal-meets-vibrant, urban refuge provides modern comfort, a rooftop pool oasis, dazzling dining destinations, genuinely engaged service, plus a central location ideal for exploring some of the city’s latest dining trends and sizzling nightlife options. Not to mention the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park - home of the Padres - located just steps away. It turns out our team members like to stay in the know, too, so let’s explore this sun-kissed town together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing