We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a great experience at the Hotel Solamar in Gastown. Great room and continental breakfast included.
A few minutes walk to the Convention Centre. We also walked eastwards to the San Diego Zoo. Bit steep climb towards the end but worth it. Plenty public transport and you can buy a day (or more) ticket to use all the buses and trolleys
Food in the restaurant was also very good and staff were very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool would be best. There are 10 floors and we were on floor 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahsGranandGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic 5 star review!!! I'm amazed that you walked all the way to the zoo from here.... we are close, but not 'that close'. Well done, and I'm sure you saw some amazing sites along the way. Hopefully you'll be back with us when your travels call for San Diego again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,083
    609
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
266
804
101
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Visited San Diego for 5 nights and 5 games of baseball. Great location, plenty of bars and restaurants near and easy to get about. Hotel staff were really helpful. The hotel was clean. It also provided a few surprising and really nice extras like wine tasting, chilled water in the afternoon (in reception) and coffee in the morning - really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickygee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and it's impressive that you went to 5 games during your stay... that's a lot of baseball and hot dogs!! Come back often, I like to say!

Thanks again DickyGee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been a patron of Kimpton Hotels before and have never been disappointed. The Hotel Solamar is no exception. The location is excellent for the Gaslamp District, Petco Park, the Convention Center, Seaport Village, Horton Plaza and Little Italy. All are either walking distance or a short bus ride. Coronado is close also via the 901 bus. While their are other hotels in the area we chose the H.S. due to the excellent price and amenities. Not only does the hotel have excellent service from the front desk and valet to the housekeeping but the morning coffee and evening wine samples are excellent. No cheap stuff here. Nice middle of the range Chardonnay and Cab. Sav. The entry area is open and comfortable. The Front Desk staff takes the time to answer tourist questions with patience. The rooms have a large screen TV, comfortable bed (small pillows), excellent BR amenities and an in-room safe large enough for a laptop. Great stay. Will definitely be a regular visitor.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back of the building as there is no view from any angle but the noise is sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluesDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Reading and responding to 5 star reviews on a monday is quickly becoming one of my top 10 favorite things..... so thank you so much!! Our team works so hard at providing great customer service, so I'm glad it shined through for you during your stay.

I'm not sure how often you get to San Diego from Mississippi, although I hope we get to be your top choice when you travel here. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This is a modern hotel situated in the south of the gaslamp quarter so is ideally located for exploring the sights and sounds of San Diego.

Upon arrival the staff were extremely helpful and polite, providing information and maps of the city and its many restaurants.

The room was large, luxurious and comfortable with a good selection of very tempting drinks and snacks (at a cost) if you fancy a relaxing evening in the room.

Each night between 5 and 6 the hotel offers a complimentary wine tasting with was a nice addition and gave the opportunity to meet other guests in the lobby.

The only criticism I have is that there is a limited number of sunbeds around the pool so be sure to get there early if you wish to make the most of the sun!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Awesome review.... thank you. Our pool & lounge area is certainly a popular place and we've loaded the area with as many seats as possible, yet I know on busy weekends it can be tough at times to find a spot to settle into. We have quite a bit of seating available on LoungeSix, although it's not all immediately around the pool.

As you mentioned, our location is certainly a great one for exploring the area. I hope you enjoyed San Diego during your stay, and we hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was clean and smart rather dark reception area which I found a bit depressing on entering the hotel, it's conveniently placed in the gas lamp part of town, only a short walk to the trolley stop for a sight seeing tour, ten minutes to the beachfront and two minutes to the stadium.
Great room lovely comfy bed, wi fi not chargeable in room as hubby had joined the Kimpton loyalty card online before we left for our holiday which anyone can dokeep it mind if you are thinking of booking this hotel.
Disappointing no tea orcoffee making facility in the room,they offerd free tea etc in reception from 6am till 9am, which meant hubby had to get dressed to go down to get our morning cuppa which was a nuisance, free wine between 5pm to 6pm which was a nice touch but we are not wine lovers so didn't bother to attend.
Was so pleased this was a completely non smoking hotel which was great but on arrival spotted other guests with their pets and realised it was pet friendly wasn't so great, I like animals but didn't like the thought that the room we were in could have been occupied previously by dog owners so for this reason I wouldn't return to this hotel, also one day around the pool area there were 2 big slobbering dogs with there owner, which to me is wrong allowing all the slobber to drop on the concrete around the pool area, they were on leads but never the less we didn't go near the pool area again during our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review of Hotel Solamar, and thank you so much for staying with us. You hit on many of the highlights of the hotel, so I'm thrilled you got to enjoy many of them.

Yes, we are a pet friendly hotel. All Kimpton Hotels are as well. With that in mind, we do certainly cater to our non-pet traveling guest and/or guests that want to be on a pet free floor. Solamar has three floors in the hotel that do not allow pet's, so you won't have to worry about staying in a room that had a pet previously stay there. I agree with you that the dogs should not be by the pool area, and they actually are prohibited from being there. These two snuck by apparently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was a wonderful, clean, beautiful hotel in a great location!
I loved the rooftop/pool area at the top of the hotel. It was cozy at night with the fire pits they have throughout.
They have this wine tasting thing in the afternoons, we had just missed it when he arrived so the concierge gave us a voucher for a free drink at the bar. That was really nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Loving the amazing review!!! Thank you. The rooftop pool area is great, particularly to watch a sunset and grab a seat by the firepits, you are correct. One of my favorite spots in the city.

Thanks for your stay... are you coming back this February again too? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service. Lovely large room overlooking the rooftop pool and bar.loved the leopard print robe! Great decor something different. It had everything you could want with impeccable service. Good location and an easy walk down to the harbour and Seaport Village (well worth a visit past the convention centre and the Marriott and Grand Hyatt hotels. A hidden gem.) located right by Pecto Park if you fancy catching a baseball game and tickets as low as 5 dollars.Also Located just in the Gaslamp District. Not far from airport as taxi drive around 15mins or 18 dollars. Taxis available outside hotel with no problems. Loved the poolside bar and atmosphere and this all added up to a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D0zzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, Director of Sales at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed your visit. Thank you! We pride ourselves on our service, so I'm thrilled it had a great impact on you.

I hope you trip to the States was amazing. Come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,188 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,451 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing