We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

The hotel is beautiful. The staff was very nice and accommodating. However, when you pay this much money for a hotel, they should not charge you for internet access or to make copies in the business center. Besides not having soda machines. I do not care how wealthy you are, no one in their right mind is going to pay $5 for a Coca Cola or a bottle of water.

  • Liked — The friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Having to pay $5 for a coke.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank moncherrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    589
    162
    88
    40
See reviews for
241
772
100
508
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

Via Hotwire, I booked 2 rooms for one night during the President's Day weekend. The rate was $139/night...and I was initially a bit apprehensive about this being the hotel revealed. It looked very adult-oriented and the reviews have tended to reflect this opinion...and we had two families with one pre-schooler apiece. There wasn't even a mention of cribs being available on the website---although a lot of cool services available for dogs were highlighted. I wrote the property via their website to inquire about the cribs.

I quickly received a voice mail message from a very nice man who assured me that they had cribs and to call if I had any questions or further requests. And thus began an amazing experience with the Hotel Solamar's customer service from every single employee we dealt with---from the front desk check-in to the cleaning people we saw in the hall. Everyone seems genuinely delighted to see you and eager to offer recommendations on how to make your stay in the hotel and the area more enjoyable. And bear in mind our party had two almost 3-year old boys in tow (enough to make most people head for the hills). Parents will appreciate how one host named Gordie got down to my son's level, really listened and had a nice conversation with him, and then greeted him by name whenever he saw him. Each child was also presented with a little goody bag of toys, including a thoughtful pre-soaped, duck-shaped sponge that made bathtime a real treat. When the crib was delivered, it was already assembled and was made up with sheets---this in itself is rather unusual!

The rooms are a little small, but very well decorated in a hip, modern style. Even the bathrobes are funky----zebra and leopard skin patterned terry cloth! Hilarious! Our bellman who delivered our luggage also kindly pointed out that the honor bar doesn't have those annoying sensors that charge your room if any of the fridge contents get moved---so if you can refrigerate a few small items of your own. The one slight service gaffe was that there was no honor bar key in our room, and it took about half an hour for them to locate an extra one.

It seems that most people who get rooms via a discount website get placed on the 4th floor which is the same floor as their pool and poolside bar. The front desk lady was proactive in giving us our rooms facing away from the pool to limit our exposure to DJ noise (seeing as we had young kids), but there was some hallway rowdiness from partygoers entering/leaving the pool area. Nothing terrible though, and the pool closes at 9.

The hotel's restaurant JSix is gorgeously appointed, and serves delicious breakfast for a surprisingly reasonable price! Try the Chilaquiles which are amazing! Again, the wait staff were extremely gracious and accommodating to young children.

A couple blocks away, the excellent restaurant Basics serves just pizza and salad---but oh, what pizza and salad! The other family vacationing with us originally hail from New York, and they proclaimed it the best pizza they've had on the West Coast. Another great recommendation from the front desk!

The location is excellent, only a a few miles away from the San Diego zoo---and a far, far better choice than staying at one of the places on Hotel Circle (especially if you can get a Priceline or Hotwire deal). We will definitely be back!!!

  • Liked — The amazing customer service
  • Disliked — noise from the pool partygoers
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueSeekerRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Solamar and really enjoyed it. The room itself was beautiful, gorgeous colors of blue and really nice furniture. The bathroom was fabulous with a large jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The bathroom is partially open to the rest of the room with a large door that can be pulled shut or open depending on privacy. Privacy wasn't an issue, but it was a bit noisy when someone was taking a shower and the other was sleeping. The hotel has a free wine tasting in the early evening, but we never made a point to go because we were always out and my husband went on the first day and said that the wine wasn't that great to go back for more. They have free Starbucks and Tazo tea in the morning from 7-9am. My husband had breakfast in the hotel restaurant one day and thought it was quite overpriced, but many are so that isn't rare. The staff was friendly, but not overbearing and I did see the housekeeping staff a lot and they were super friendly. The parking rate was high, at $30/day and before we went, I had called to see if there were any other garages or lots around the hotel. The person who answered said that they were, but they didn't know how much. Well, they are around the $10/day range, depending on when you put your car in the garage. Overall, it is a very nice hotel in a nice location walking distance to the ballpark, convention center and the Gaslamp District, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The parking price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spicey477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2008

We stayed here just one night to celebrate my wife's birthday and had such a good experience.

Our porter found out it was my wife's birthday and after delivering our luggage, promptly returned with complementary champaign! It was very good champaign too.

The concierge welcomed us with a plate of trail mixes and bottles of water. And he made special arrangements at the restaurant at jSix (located in the hotel). We were given more champaign, special appetizers, and desert.

I was most impressed because we didn't ask for any of this and it was all complementary.

Everyone we saw working at the hotel greeted us with a smile and they were all friendly.

The food at jSix was fantastic. Easily worth twice as much as they charge.

The room was clean and comfortable.

Even the weather cooperated and the rain stopped for our visit.

I would highly recommend this hotel and any Kimpton property. They always seem to go out of their way to make the visit a good one.

  • Liked — Service was excellent, and free wine tasting is always appreciated
  • Disliked — The free wine tasting is only for a few hours, it should be all day!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

The hotel was exactly what I've come to expect from Kimpton -- funky decor, nice bathroom, comfortable bed. Free wireless access in the room was an added bonus. The staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful (but note that we were there on a very quiet evening when not much else was demanding their attention). The hotel is right int he Gaslamp Quarter within easy walking distance of many restaurants and bars. Parking is expensive.

  • Liked — Decor and location.
  • Disliked — Parking fee.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KinWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
279 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

My husband and I spent three nights at this hotel and could not have had a more enjoyable experience. We always try to stay at a Kimpton hotel if the city we are traveling to has one and this is one of their better properties for ambiance, quality and outstanding service. It is certainly a beautiful hotel. Having read some past negative reviews I was somewhat apprehensive but either the reviews were wrong or the hotel has greatly improved.

Check-in went well, our room was perfect, our stay was without any problems and check-out was easy. The hotel atmosphere is very relaxing and lends itself to having a great time. The wine hour was enjoyable and two of the evenings the manager circulated the room to make sure the guests were pleased with the hotel. Housekeeping did an excellent job each day and never caused us an inconvenience. Every staff member was great.

We tried the hotel restaurant for breakfast and it was excellent. Went to the fourth floor outdoor bar. The area was nice but it was too cold to stay. The fitness room was so-so - not very big with limited equipment.

The location of the Hotel Solamar is convenient to both the Gaslamp District and the Convention Center area. Public transportation is nearby and the city bus to the airport is a few steps outside the hotel. We took it back to the airport and it took about thirlty minutes.

We would definitely stay at this hotel should we visit San Diego again.

  • Liked — Outstanding Accomodations
  • Disliked — Fitness Center
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2007

Possibly the best service I've ever received at a hotel. The front desk staff was as friendly and accomodating as could be, as was the rest of the staff. We Pricelined this hotel, and they were still very accomodating about providing a room on highest floor possible,away from any possible street or nightlife noise. I think it helped that it was December, and hotel was probably not near capacity. My one complaint was the pricing for the parking and for the J-Bar (outside bar on 4th floor). $30/night plus tip for valet parking is excessive. Then I ordered 2 glasses of house wine from J-Bar, at $9/glass for the house wine - again, seems excessive for house wine. But with great location of this hotel, there's so many other options available that it wasn't a problem.

  • Liked — Outstanding service
  • Disliked — Excessive cost of parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GogginDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,879 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,054 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,382 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#13 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing