We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, great location”
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Possibly the best service I've ever received at a hotel. The front desk staff was as friendly and accomodating as could be, as was the rest of the staff. We Pricelined this hotel, and they were still very accomodating about providing a room on highest floor possible,away from any possible street or nightlife noise. I think it helped that it was December, and hotel was probably not near capacity. My one complaint was the pricing for the parking and for the J-Bar (outside bar on 4th floor). $30/night plus tip for valet parking is excessive. Then I ordered 2 glasses of house wine from J-Bar, at $9/glass for the house wine - again, seems excessive for house wine. But with great location of this hotel, there's so many other options available that it wasn't a problem.

  • Liked — Outstanding service
  • Disliked — Excessive cost of parking
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GogginDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    600
    167
    89
    41
See reviews for
250
790
100
523
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

Wife and I stayed at the Hotel Solamar for a three-day long (Dec. 6-9, 2007) anniversary trip. Actually, booked the Hotel Solamar via Price-line and was our first time to a Kimpton Hotel-- it will certainly not be the last.

What's not to like about this hotel? Great location--1-2 blocks to The Gaslamp District, 3 blocks to Petco Park, 4-5 blocks to convention center.

Friendly, helpful people working at the Hotel--
From the men at Valet (and yes $30 per night is expensive, but that's the going rate), to the Bellman who gave us recommendations to restaurants and clubs, the Concierge who made reservations for us, to the Front Desk - who upon hearing this was a special trip for us-- possibly up-graded us to a corner room King w/spa tub. Everyone working at the Hotel Solamar was fantastic.

The Amenities-- modern, well-appointed rooms, very comfortable bed. Clean. No issue with noise or house-keeping. And the crazy Zebra and Tiger bathrobes, we loved it. Nightly Happy Hour from 5-6pm, red wine and/or champagne. Tough decisions to make!! Checked out the J-Bar on the fourth floor only briefly (too cold/rain), but it seemed like a happening place (I can only imagine the summer-time). Didn't make it to JSix restaurant--too many options close by-- but seemed elegant.

In closing, our experience at the Hotel Solamar was First-rate. Comfortable-clean room, great location, first-class staff. Doesn't get better than this!!

  • Liked — Great people
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scohel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Hotel Solamar had a great location in the Gas Lamp District. It was close walk (3 blocks or less) to the convention center and many restaurants and shops in the area. A longer walk (5 to 6 blocks) gets you to the seaside village and Midway aircraft carrier. Beware of the falsely advertised seafood restaurant Anthony's in that area. It was average at best.

The hotel featured a nice wine tasting each night in the lobby. It had a fun and relaxed feeling as people interacted in the comfortable setting. The JSix restaurant was delicious and had a lovely atmosphere. The fresh squeezed juices, though adding to the cost of breakfast, were wonderful. Finally, the roof top bar was most pleasant during the wonderful San Diego evenings.

I rated this hotel above average only because the room was a bit small, though nicely decorated and quite comfortable with nice linens and matresses. We received the New York Times every morning, and any requests we made were promptly and courteously addressed. Dogs are welcomed at the hotel, but they were never a problem or too numerous. (There were none that I saw during the week, with ony three during the weekend.)

I highly recommend this lovely hotel for your stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JRMKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

We picked this hotel for the deal of the day.. WERE WE LUCKY!.. ahhhhhhhhh .. loved the contemporary vib and look.. wine tasting.. we walked everywhere.. make sure to take trolley tour.. worth the$$$ .and Balboa Park is awesome!... everyone at the hotel was friendly and nice!!

  • Liked — contemporary vibe
  • Disliked — ???
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank debntim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We booked the hotel through the website and received a really good rate off $147 per night. The hotel is in a great area, the furnishings are mordern and the staff is extremely helpful. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant J-six which was also excellent.

Just wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank batravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatsworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2007

I booked a surprise get away for my fiencee and I. We were in need of a nice getaway following Thanksgiving. When finding the Hotel Solomar and checking out the website it seemed cool enough with this kind of peaceful, serenity vibe. Even had yoga chick looking ultra relaxed. The picture showed a nice décor, a bit trendy and then I saw a special for “Romantic Rendezvous”. Perfect!

The special was to include cold champagne waiting our arrival, chocolate truffles on our bed, and bed and breakfast.yummy! Sounds pretty romantic eh? Oh but NO.

Once we got there, the bubbly but unhelpful reservation woman informed us that we did not have the “Romantic Rendezvous” special and instead had some other promotion. Huh? We don’t want another special. I paid for romance so I expect romance dammit!

Soon the manager (I guess) sensing a little trouble tried to help saying he would “look into it and let us know if the morning”. Let us know in the morning? That too late! We want our breakfast in bed so this needed to be taken care of right now.

Later we got a call that because of the confusion (in which there was no “confusion”), they would credit us $50 for room service (More on this in a second). But what about our champagne? What about our truffles? At least a Snickers bar or something!

A bit about the hotel: Actually, in all fairness, it’s not that bad. The location is nice in that it is walking distance to the popular Gas lamp district with lots of shopping and restaurants. The décor was pretty funky, no complaints. The room was nice although small. We were warned about all the noise we would receive since the bar and pool is in the center of the hotel. Hopefully, it was just a bad week for them on this Friday and Saturday night, because there may have been seven people max (2 were bartenders…and 1 bar back). So, huh, noise was not an issue.

Probably our favorite part was their complimentary wine hour where the guests can mingle in a pretty cool lounge/sitting area and if nothing else, look cool. More importantly, we found this a time to cash in on our missing romantic package, so we helped ourselves to refills oh about every 10 minutes, “borrowed” the wine glasses (they’re in our cupboard right now) and proceeded to purposely get very buzzed and well, romantic!

In passing the front desk, another cheery unhelpful reservation girl asked if there was anything she could do for me. Well yes…give us some champagne! I explained once again how they screwed us out of our romantic package and quite possibly jeopardized our chances of an everlasting marriage. I should sue! She said she would send up a bottle of Champagne. Ok, now we’re getting somewhere. Not even 5 minutes later, they call the room saying they out of champagne. $&*&^! – WTF, how can a hotel be fresh out of champagne. Especially an EMPTY hotel?? Instead we got another bottle of the wine we had already abused earlier. Great.

So that evening get ready for our ghetto breakfast in bed with our $50 credit for room service breakfast due to “confusion”. So we decide on eggs some bacon, toast, a bagel, lox and cheese. With delivery charge, tax, and gratuity….$47!!! Double WTF?

Another nice thing was that the Hotel Solomar was pet friendly, so we brought our cute little dog, Pepper along. Even he was unhappy as he got attacked by two stray pit bulls in the Gas lamp District. So, considering everything, upon checking out we let him poop on the front lawn (and didn’t pick it up…J/K wink) – Still, this is about how we felt about their “Romantic Rendezvous”…it was crap.

The Hotel Solomar is actually a decent place to stay. I think the main problem is marketing it as something it is not. No, you will not have romance there (although the free wine hour helps). You will not find a happening bar filled with drunken chicks. You will not find a real yoga retreat. You will not find a spacious room. You will get an average to slightly above average place to rest your head with a touch of style. Make sure you get a cheap special otherwise if you pay more you are more likely to be disappointed.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank maranna4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2007

I stayed in Solamar for a few nights in November 2007, with great pleasure. The room on the 9th floor was very clean, luxurious and spacious. It was extremely quiet in the hotel so I slept very very well in the kingsize bed. I did not use the rooftop pool/bar but it looked very nice. The hotel's location is very convenient as well, 5 mins walking to the convention center; all the bars and restaurants of the Gaslamp quarter in about 1 min walking distance. The hotel is located at the border of the Gaslamp quarter therefore the area is quiet at night. Every morning free (good!) coffee and thea, and free wine from 17h-18h. On my departure date I used the MTS bus service directly to the airport, which stops right in front of the hotel. Very convenient and cost only $2.25, thus saved my quite some $$ on taxi.

If I ever return to San Diego I certainly would love to stay in Solamar.

  • Liked — luxureous room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sbgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#38 of 279 in San Diego
5,048 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 279 in San Diego
2,415 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing