We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to live in a Kimpton Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Ranked #42 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I want to live in a Kimpton Hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We had our wedding reception in a Kimpton Hotel in Cambridge Ma, and wanted to stay in one when traveling to San Diego. I love that the hotels are boutique in decor and warm, not cold like so many. Also, they are dog friendly--big plus! The hotel was in a great location, very clean, and the food at the restaurant for breakfast was great. Our room was spacious and cleaned and Do Not Disturb signs were respected. We didn't want our room cleaned so early in the morning. The front desk was helpful as well. Two things: The coffee in the morning stops being served 15-20 mins before the end time, and they have one woman working this station, which they probably need 2. Also, the hotel room's windows really really needed washing! Other than that, it was an amazing trip and time. The front desk was helpful, it can get hectic if there are lots of guests waiting, but everyone was kind and professional.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapia6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Hello New York - New York!

And from coast to coast we have plenty of Kimpton Hotels to live in - thank you.

I am very delighted to know that you enjoyed our sunny San Diego Hotel and the surrounding area; even more pleased that your Kimpton experiences continue to grow. We are so pleased to have you as a loyal guest.

We agree, the windows are in need of attention and with our rainy season ending we have actually scheduled our our spring window cleaning beginning April 25th - clear views will be on the horizon very soon!

Thank you again for your great comments and again for choosing the Solamar and Kimpton Hotels.

Cheers -

Mark Dibella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    606
    170
    90
    42
See reviews for
262
801
100
526
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milpitas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

This was the first time at Kimpton's Solamar Hotel. I booked online under the Sun and Sea internet special which gave me $30 to spend anywhere in the Hotel ranging from in-suite dining/room service to valet parking. As a Kimpton In-Touch member (sign up is Free), i also received a $10 credit to the "Honor Bar" which is the snack and mini-fridge menu.

Coming from San Francisco, it was a long drive. I was met by very courteous and attentive valet parking staff. After tipping the valet to take care of my car $5, i was assisted by the bell hop Garrett, who was very friendly and polite. A nice gal name Katie, who had greeted me and checked me in at the Front Desk, had fulfilled by request for a Corner Spa Suite, which when Garrett and i had unloaded my things at the room, was an excellent Corner Unit to say the least. After tipping Garrett $5 for his kind and professional help, I took a tour of the unit. The views were 180 degrees, 9 floors up (10 floors total in this Kimpton) and excellent looking into Petco Park, where the San Diego Padres play home games. There was a roar from the crowds as i was unpacking, as someone from the Padres had just hit a homerun after the 7th inning stretch. Of course, if you could imagine, there were bars around the park next to the Kimpton. There was the Fleetwood and the Bub, right outside the corner suite where you could look down and see the patrons. So if you want a quiet room, either close the windows (you couldn't hear any noise if you shut the windows of this unit and used the A/C) or request a Corner Suite on the other side of the hall.

The Corner Suite was spacious and richly appointed. There was a nice, big soaking tub, which was jetted as well. I actually used this Spa jet tub at the end of the night and it just put me to sleep right after. One of the best sleeps i'd enjoyed in a long time. The reason: the beds. These beds like most Kimptons are the most enjoyable beds to sleep on. They are just the right amount of firmness and super clean and fresh smelling. There was a HDTV LCD for viewing enjoyment, a DVD player, liquers available, wine, champagne, Organic cookies, nuts, etc.

These Kimptons are inviting and well-thought out. Efficient. Value. Superb service and hospitality at the right value-oriented price point. At least that is the impression i get every time i book and leave a Kimpton. I leave feeling i got a good deal, a wonderful experience, and wanting to book again anytime i'm in a City that has a Kimpton. In fact, that's what i do these days.

The Hotel Solamar is one of the most luxurious Kimptons i've booked. The lobby is just spectacular. As with every Kimpton i've stayed at, there was a wine reception hour from 5-6pm. This reception at the Solamar was superb as usual. My female counterpart was extremely delighted.

I wholeheartedly recommend yet another Kimpton. The Kimpton Solamar's staff will impress, and once you see the interior decor and stay in the comfortable rooms you will wonder why you only had to pay so little for all of it. By far, of any other hotel chain i've stayed at, the best pound-for-pound all-around deal for its price.

These Kimptons are going to devour other hotel chains in this Recession. They will come out of this Recession as a top hotel chain, and to be perfect honest, i think they deserve to me. This benchmark of excellence should apply to all hotels.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Kimpton's site for the Best Rate Guarantee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surplusmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We've stayed in other Kimpton hotels and although this one was good, it wasn't as good. Location is perfect - right in the heart of the Gaslamp, and the rooms and facilities were ok. But staff weren't as friendly in other Kimptons we've stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireyaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

i have to confence i was in this hotel on nov 2009 , but i recently joined tripadvisor.
i went to the hotel with my father, and as much time i had in the hotle ile say that it's beautifull, has a very chick mood.
the rooms are very well decorated and very modern.
the servise of the hotel was very very good and helpfull, for example i went early in the morning to the pool and without a second past i got a towel and i got a bottle of water.
the pool lounge is very good and very fun.
i wish i had more time to enjoy the hotel , but i can say it's one of the best iv'e been too.
p.s it's close to everyware and it above a few great nught spots.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sliderTelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Seriously. I'm a big fan of the Ritz-Carlton concierge level. This hotel was truly fun. From the leopard-print robes to the rubber ducky in the ginormous jetted tub, the rooms have it all. I booked a spa king room -- it was large, clean (even for a total germ-o-phobe), and beautifully appointed. I loved the slider that covered the opening to the bath area.

Staff is friendly, helpful, and made me feel like I was a family member. No creepy, over-the-top "It's my pleasure."

The hosted social hour was so fun -- people actually hanging out meeting each other, engaging in conversation, and even a dog made an appearance! I've never experienced such a comfortable atmosphere.

I was traveling here for a conference -- a single woman -- and I always felt safe. Convention center is an easy easy easy walk.

YES. I would totally stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEteacherandRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelhurst, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We recently stayed for a week at the Hotel Solamar. We were very impressed with the hotel and especially the employees. The desk staff and valets went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and answered all questions we had. They also helped set us up with a rental Jeep as well as gave us their personal #'s in case we got lost. The rooms and hotel was very clean, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The outdoor bar/lounge was relaxing and fun. The staff definitely helped make the hotel stand out. I highly recommend the Hotel Solamar.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler54531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York,Usa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Solamar. Our room was ready even though we arrived early and the staff throughout our visit was friendly and very helpful.Great location in the Gaslamp District . Free wine tasting in the evening and free coffee and newspaper in the lobby in the morning were a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkDibellaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Solamar Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
Hello Long Island Guest -

And thank you for the rave reviews on our hotel and especially our staff. I was happy to see that we were able to check you in earlier than normal and that the extra perks of our hotel made a positive difference in your stay - we strive to be more personal and in touch.

Aside from a great experience our goal is to have you back again - thank you for selecting Solamar and we'll see you soon.

Best regards,

Mark Dibella
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,110 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Solamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Solamar Hotel

Property: Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Address: 435 6th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-7007
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , East Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Diego
#7 Business Hotel in San Diego
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Solamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the apex of cosmopolitan downtown San Diego, the boutique Kimpton Hotel Solamar lounges between the exciting Gaslamp Quarter, trendy East Village and stunning San Diego Convention Center. These vibrant neighborhoods complement the luxury hotel's coastal cool décor and personable service. Home to the sassy rooftop LOUNGEsix and adjacent Jsix restaurant, Hotel Solamar is also moments from PETCO Ballpark, San Diego Bay, Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo and miles of beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Solamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Diego
Hotel Solamar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing