We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as Spanish as you might expect”

The Prado at Balboa Park
Reserve with OpenTable
The Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 4,753 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape of finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego's famous Balboa Park.
nj
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not as Spanish as you might expect”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

While the exterior of the building is Spanish Colonial, the inside is a bit of mess. There are antler chandeliers stuffed with glass frisbies (art glass), wax candles fitted with flicker flame electric bulbs and dusty fake flowers. The food is good and the service is good but a bit pretentious. The inner dining room has a beautiful painted ceiling and there is also outdoor dining space but with no view. Nearby parking is free but valet service is available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank njdadddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    553
    146
    52
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
414 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum Resturant”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Prado is located in the heart of the museum district in Balboa Park. It is a wonderful oasis after a morning of taking in museum culture and history. The resturant itself is a beautiful blend of original historic architectural interiors now adorned with very contemporary artistic pieces including very colorful glass works. The food is very fresh and the service is quite attentative. I had the deconstructed fish tacos which included mango salsa and fresh salad garnish and is beautifully seasoned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
392 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The setting was probably our favorite part, enjoying patio dining on a sunny afternoon. While the food was good, we had been expecting amazing, so there was a small letdown. The staff was polite and accommodating but our server was very slow. This is our least favorite Cohn restaurant to date.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatTraveltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant, Fabulous Place”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a wonderful restaurant, we were warmly welcomed and very well looked after. The food was superb as was the location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great spot for a meal outside overlooking the Japanese Gardens.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I really like this place but it is in Balboa Park so make sure you know what is going on as it affects parking and how busy the restaurant is. I avoid it when I know it's busy. The menu has a wide variety of items and it is not unreasonable. I bring out of towners here when we go to the park and they have all loved it!! When it is busy service will be slow. This is not a place to get a quick meal so relax and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurfdogSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to The Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing