We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Prado at Balboa Park

The Prado at Balboa Park
Reserve with OpenTable
The Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 4,537 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape and finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego’s famous Balboa Park.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Fabulous up close art from very famous artists!!
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
We practically had the place to ourselves !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    763
    469
    121
    48
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A jewel of a spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent the day at Balboa Park and decided that the cool, shady patio was perfect for lunch. Hubby had Whole Grain Mustard Steamed Mussels and I had Grilled Fish Tacos. Both were quite tasty and reasonably priced for being at a "museum" like setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debits2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food with a garden view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lunch at the Prado is not to be missed, especially if you can get there as the restaurant opens for lunch and so be seated outdoors, overlooking a garden on a lower level. The food was excellent and the service of top quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really no other restaurant options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Balboa Park is beautiful and amazing! After walking around we were hungry - other than food trucks our only option was Prado. The restaurant is pretty but food is not very good. I ordered the Mahi-Mahi fish tacos and my husband ordered the turkey burger. It was a Sunday afternoon - the restaurant was busy but not super busy. The tables next to us recieved their food, were finished eating and paid the bill before we even got our food. We were starving - but to our disappointment the food was not that good. The Mahi-Mahi tacos were deconstructed but the cabbage was to overpowering to include on the tacos, the jicama was mixed with something and it was bland and the mango salsa was not that good. The turkey burger my husband ordered had all sorts of healthy stuff on it - when done right - yum but it ended up being better when he deconstructed it and added ketchup. With so many good restaurants in San Diego to bad this one wasn't one of them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful find in Balboa Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing spot to have lunch and found the Prado at Balboa Park. We chose the Prado paella and the rosemary roasted half Jidori chicken. Both were very well prepared, good presentation and absolutely delicious. The only comment re the paella is that it was so full of seafood that there wasn't much room for the rice! The mascarpone polenta with the chicken was really wonderful - I'm picky about polenta having lived in Italy and was not disappointed. The only thing I found a little lacking was the chipotle hummus - I would have liked it more if it was creamier, but my husband loved it. The service was also very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaimlerDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to The Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing