We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

The Prado at Balboa Park
Reserve with OpenTable
The Prado at Balboa Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 4,768 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6th Avenue
Description: Set in the rich landscape of finely manicured gardens, the Prado Restaurant is located at the historic House of Hospitality in the center of San Diego's famous Balboa Park.
Chicago
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The appetizer was wonderful the salad so-so. The venue is lovely but this was spoiled by an extremely indifferent server...if you find a man named Cal is your server ask to be reseated. I know for a fact that as a couple at 6'3" and 5'7" we are far from invisible.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    912
    560
    149
    54
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ely, Minnesota
Level Contributor
227 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Visit the Zoo and lunch here.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The place to have great food after a visit to a nice zoo. Fast service, great food well presented. Dine in or out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Ariona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“The Prado Restaurant in Balboa....a delight for the senses”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are going to Balboa Park, plan to drop by The Prado Restaurant on El Prado Drive. This is excellent food, wonderful atmosphere. They have a huge outdoor dining area and San Diego weather means you can sit outside, smoke free, and enjoy Southern California weather. The food is excellent. The service is fast. The money you pay will be returned in the beautiful plating of your meal. I had their Tortilla soup and found it very well spiced but not overwhelming the taste buds. My husband had the biggest Kobe hamburger I've ever seen. It is served with potatoes on the side that will make your mouth water (there is feta cheese in it). There is a extensive wine list for those who are wine lovers. This is an elegant, upscale place but if you want to spend an hour or two relaxing over lunch....this is the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The food was amazing! Our waiter was super friendly and took time to explain the menu. Great atmosphere. Unique decor, very artsy. A bit pricey but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karma294evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Found a baby slug in salad”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

As I was about to eat my salad I noticed a slimy creature crawling over the leaf I was about to put in my mouth. I asked to speak to the manager and She told me that the salad came from an organic farm and gave me a free dessert. I don't think this is a good excuse and I deserved to have my meal comped.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prado at Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to The Prado at Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing