We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Ota

Sushi Ota
Ranked #4 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pacific Beach
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

In a small strip mall of off white stucco with a 7/11 as its anchor shop Ota Sushi unexpectedly hides its treasures. The initial fishy smell worried me when I first arrived. The miso soup arrived withe the most finely cut scallions I had ever seen. I knew I was in good hands. The mighty staff behind the counter move swiftly to carry out orders and they are committed to excellence. I was compelled booked a table for tonight before I left yesterday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigbubba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    120
    35
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get your sushi fix”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love this place. They have this Sashimi sampler platter that is to die for. If your new to the world of sushi, don't pass up on the sea eel sashimi, its excellent. 5 out of 5

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drwoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local Surprise”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

In a small nondescript strip mall, surprised to find such quality. Lovely decor, excellent food, decent service. The person I sat next to mentioned she travels miles just to come there, because it's the best around. And they obviously have a local following.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DillonScottsdaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic..not for westerners looking for cheap sushi”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you LOVE sushi...REAL sushi this is it!! You won't find California rolls here (nor should you) this is an authentic experience. Sashimi is so tender. The hospitality second to none. You don't have to ask for fresh wasabi here, it's on your plate. If you are unsure about what a dish is, the staff is helpful. It's well priced but, well worth it!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lf644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A couple of weeks back, I made a reservation for my birthday for 7 people. I found out a few days later that more people would be joining us, so I called and asked to increase the reservation to 12. Without skipping a beat, Keiko (I believe her name was) said that it is not possible to increase a reservation past 7.

So I asked her:
Why not? How many people can you accommodate in your restaurant? Are there bookings full for 5PM? She wouldn't give me a clear answer.

So, my boyfriend called and made a separate reservation for 5 people (in order to make up the difference). My full party got there on my birthday, and we got there early. Keiko came outside and started asking people if they had reservations and if they said "No", she would say, "Oh, we can seat you, but you have to be gone by 6" WTF?! REALLY?

She came up to us, and we said, "We have two reservations, can we sit next to each other?" while pointing out the long bench and tables that could perfectly sit 12 people. And she said it was not possible to move the tables, they had to stay in their places, and we couldn't sit next to each other, we had to sit in different rooms. The HELL?! I just want us to be able to SIT next to each other! She walked past us after that like we were yesterday's trash, completely unwilling to meet us half way.

It is completely possible to sit 12 people next to each other. If it were another group of 7, and then another group of 5 came along, they would eventually sit them next to each other, no problem. If it's a problem with a waitress being over burdened, get two waitresses to serve us!!! It's not rocket science!

Sushi Ota is just a really good sushi bar that has gotten rave reviews on their food, so they (or Keiko) don't give a CRAP about making 12 people mad, since they figure that they are going to make that money anyway, and just toss them aside. They are lazy and don't want to meet people half way to give decent customer service. If making a reservation for 7+ people is a problem, they need to say so on their automated directory, or someone needs to say "Okay, but we can't increase that later, is that okay?" But I don't think that is really the case.

Good thing I made a back up reservation at Harney Sushi in Old Town, they are excellent.

I will NOT be coming back here based on the "Customer Service" that I received this evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenc180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sushi Ota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing