We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Steak is What You Go There For” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #129 of 4,607 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Steak is What You Go There For”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The ribeye has always been excellent and the sides are always how you'd like them to turn out. The downtown San Diego location is very scenic, but make sure you have reservations especially on weekends and restaurant week.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank henrykim_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    110
    49
    33
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“unpleasantly suprised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

On a holiday to San Diego from Scotland we tried this steak house as my husband had been to one in Toronto and had enjoyed it, so on his recommendation we went. Reserved table, had to wait 15 mins after reservation time, sat at table , ordered meal , my steak was undercooked, so I ate round sides, as I didnt want to make fuss, husbands steak overcooked and both steaks tasteless,left 3/4 of mine, so sad so say, we left not a very happy couple. I felt that the people who work there,felt they were above and beyond the best staff in the world, sorry but I have to disagree. I made the choice of eateries for the next week and most were much better.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindsey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here and had the 16 oz bone in filet. One of the best steaks I've had. And being from Texas I know steak. Service was impeccable and the sunset view of the harbor was beautiful. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wayhey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The food is fabulose the service is bad enough to make me never want to go to any Ruth's Chris ever again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to the North Harbor Drive Ruth's Chris for dinner. When we walked in I told both of the hostesses present that we would be having no alcohol at our table because one of the guests had relapsed since multiple tries at rehab's. When we were seated I told our server Ricca that no alcohol was to be served at our table and that I would not be paying for any alcohol. She immediately asked if anyone wanted drinks when every one arrived.When the person with the problem order wine all of the adults at the table said that no alcohol was to be served at the table..Our guest went to the bathroom several times during the evening and each time went and ordered wine at the bar and apparently charged it to our table bill.I did not find out about this until I got my bill.Our server removed our friends lobster dinner from the table while she was gone to the "bathroom" without her permission and she tried to remove my salad plate with steak plates before I was finished. All the while not removing any other empty dirty dish from our table all evening.
The food was all excellent as always. When I went to pay the bill I asked to speak to the manager, the bill was timed at 5/5/13 at 6:03 PM. I explained about the very poor service,One glass of water for me just before the meal ended one refill on my soft drink as I was leaving the table. None of the dirty dishes were removed from the table except the lobster which was tossed and my food while I was still eating.He went and spoke to the server and came back and told me the lobster was in the bag and when I told him it was not he went and talked to the server again. He came back and told me he was taking the lobster and drinks off my bill..I thought this was a nice gesture since I had not asked to have the lobster taken off my bill because some of it was eaten. When I first spoke to him I told him I would not pay for the drinks charged to my table and that I had told everyone that before the meal.He went to the table and the server told him the lobster was in the bag of food which it was not. What I found out later after leaving the table RICCA was given $40 for some of the worst table service ever.She then presented a bill to my friends and told them I refused to pay for the lobster and drinks and that they had to pay for them which they did..The child at the table was very upset by this time because his Mother was drunk and on the way out he said what horrible service we had gotten.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelwriter1usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great view, expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went here for a nice dinner out and it was better than we ever imagined. The steak was melt in your mouth steak and the mashed potatoes were so good!! The creme brulee was so yummy too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krys1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing