We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take out is the way to go”
Review of Phil's BBQ

Phil's BBQ
Ranked #27 of 4,770 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: For the past 17 years, BBQ lovers across San Diego County have turned to restaurateur Phil Pace to satisfy a singular craving: mesquite-grilled baby back ribs, beef ribs, chicken and sandwiches. Serving thousands of customers a day from a diverse clientele of skateboarders to Bentleys, Phil has built his foundation on consistency, quality, freshness, and friendly service. "We thrive on providing each guest with the 'Phil's Experience', which basically comes down to organized chaos," laughs owner Phil Pace. "The biggest reason behind our success is our loyal customers who have supported us and waited in line for a taste of BBQ for the past fifteen years. "Since opening its doors in San Diego in 1998, Phil's BBQ has served over one million pounds of BBQ sauce (enough to fill Shamu's tank).
Yuma, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take out is the way to go”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very large food portions, great for take out (especially picnics), wouldn't wait in the line though. Excellent customer service!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Haley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,120
    794
    271
    67
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Gotta Try It”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family really enjoyed Phil's BBQ. The food was good and the gal taking our order gave us some good advice on our food choices so we didn't order more than we could handle. We will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Riley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best BBQ place I've ever been to.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Delicious food and always worth the wait! Warning though, portions are HUGE, so go hungry. Please don't be discouraged if you see a long line outside. It moves quickly. The staff are always smiling, friendly, and very helpful. I can't say I have a favorite plate. I've tried quite a few different items and they are all really good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth th wait”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The family ventured to this highly rated eatery for my birthday July 3rd. While in line, one of the happy employees (they're all like that!) came by and allowed us to reserve seating, as we were a party of nine. After an hour wait, we tore into hearty dinners of ribs or chicken. Both dinners come with two sides that are quite substantial. I had the ribs. It was perfectly cooked and the baby backs were very meaty. The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the sauce which has a vinegary aftertaste to it. It tended to overpower the taste of the meat. I tasted the chicken which was delicious. The fries are ok but I would recommend the onion rings which are outstanding. With bigger parties, a server is involved. Lewis was the man! He brought all our food and pretty much anything else we needed. Overall, very good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clipto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
1 review
“Best BBQ and portions & prices”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Title says it all! Everything was first class, so much so that we just had to go back for a 2nd time!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's BBQ also viewed

 
La Jolla, San Diego
 

Been to Phil's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing