We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ for San Diego”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Phil's BBQ

Phil's BBQ
Ranked #25 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For the past 17 years, BBQ lovers across San Diego County have turned to restaurateur Phil Pace to satisfy a singular craving: mesquite-grilled baby back ribs, beef ribs, chicken and sandwiches. Serving thousands of customers a day from a diverse clientele of skateboarders to Bentleys, Phil has built his foundation on consistency, quality, freshness, and friendly service. "We thrive on providing each guest with the 'Phil's Experience', which basically comes down to organized chaos," laughs owner Phil Pace. "The biggest reason behind our success is our loyal customers who have supported us and waited in line for a taste of BBQ for the past fifteen years. "Since opening its doors in San Diego in 1998, Phil's BBQ has served over one million pounds of BBQ sauce (enough to fill Shamu's tank).
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good BBQ for San Diego”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Don't get me wrong if I had to recommend a BBQ place in San Diego to someone visiting from out of town this would be in the top three, but that's only because there isn't a whole lot of good competition. I feel like the quality has gone downhill ever since they became a "chain" restaurant. There have been quite a few times where my food was lukewarm and did not taste very fresh. One thing you can always count on though is leaving with leftovers so if you are looking for a good value for your money this may be the place for you. Some people say that Phil's BBQ is on par with BBQ from the mid-west or the south but in my opinion it is not.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilsBBQSD, VP of Operations at Phil's BBQ, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Justin
Thanks for reviewing us. Sorry to hear about your experience. When were you last in and what did you have? Please feel free to send it back anytime it is not perfect and exactly the way you wanted. Thanks again
Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,046
    770
    261
    62
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ in SD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The line stretches out to the street all evening. We figured out that you could just walk in and sit in the bar and order food there so that's what we did. Had the baby back rib's and chicken, loved the BBQ sauce....very tangy!! Plenty of food for the money. Service in the bar was great. Overall, great food, fantastic value. Will be back there again when I am in San Diego again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank djt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always Consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have only done takeaway from this restaurant and it never fails. Great BBQ, potato salad, coleslaw, corn...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank shoefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very casual, friendly place with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A friend suggested Phil's, but was hesitant about how long it would take, he said there is often a long line. We didn't experience that, but I can see how it would happen. The food is great, and you get plenty to eat! Having had BBQ in Kansas City, I was skeptical at first, but it was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We often have this for our office lunches and each time it blows my mind, i just love the BBQ here, if your in San Diego for a vacation make sure you check this place out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's BBQ also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Phil's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing