We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super elegant Pizza. This”

Old Venice Italian Restaurant
Ranked #237 of 5,820 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Canon between Scott and Rosecrans
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Super elegant Pizza. This is much more than a pizza restaurant but we come all the way from Coronado every so often to get their pizza. It has a great ambience and very easy parking. It is about five minutes from The airport. We find that we normally share a salad and get the smaller of the two pizzas.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Pilotusn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2019

We're an Italian family from NYC and we were blown away by this food--especially the vegetables, such as artichokes and Brussel sprouts. Those are very challenging to get just-right. But Old Venice did.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank GiorelloFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2019 via mobile

A group of five went here for a birthday dinner. We sat in a pretty outdoor courtyard. The service was very haphazard. The staff seemed to be all attractive young people who had never been trained and were just winging it. All very nice but kind of clueless. The food was mostly Italian basics and not particularly interesting, but big portions. Everyone in our group thought his or her dinner was fine, but nothing special. Overall, I thought it was OK if you want some basic Italian food and aren’t too concerned about service (water glasses not refilled, wine glass empty and no one asks if you want another, plates never cleared when finished.)

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Seabo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

Came here with friends to celebrate a birthday. The bread they serve is awesome, the mussels appetizer was very good and the caprese dish with scallops was tasty as well. 3 of us had the Regina pasta which was a little soupy but topped with good seafood. One of us had the lamb chops which I tasted and was tender and not to over seasoned like some places tend to do and let the lamb flavor through. This is a pretty large restaurant which wasn’t that full for a Friday night, but the bar area was very busy when we left. Definitely will come again, a nice find.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank johnrQ8444QY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019

There are times when you just stumble on to a restaurant that not only exceeds your expectations, but also matches the quality of its higher end competition at an insanely reasonable price. I must say that the Old Venice was one of the best Italian dining experiences I've had in a very long time. My wife and I found this place while searching for a reception location for our wedding and we were floored by the wonderful hospitality of the friendly staff.

This place has such a refreshing and welcoming atmosphere from the moment you arrive at the front door. We also had the the distinct pleasure of meeting the General Manager, Elwin Gill, who was especially accommodating to our needs. We found the food to be absolutely delicious. The items we tried included the Chipotle Chicken Rigatoni, The Beef Ravioli w/ Marinara sauce, and the "Magic Mushrooms." Every bite was fantastic and packed with amazing flavor. The sauces used were perfectly balanced and exhibited just the right level of acidity while veering away from being oily or salty. The Chipotle tomato cream sauce was especially robust with just the perfect heat level. The ravioli were large and hearty and that Marinara sauce, with its wonderful herbs, garlic, and onions, sent me into a tomato fueled nirvana the hearkened back to the days would dream of experiencing the authentic "Old World" Italian sauces while sitting at a table on a farm somewhere in the Campania region.

However, the star of the show was the "Magic Mushrooms." These delectable bites of melty, cheesy, culinary decadence started our meal off on the moon from the get-go. No sooner than the moment they were placed on the table, they were gone as my wife and I had already forgotten we devoured them only moments before we stared idly at the empty bowl. Plain and simple, I can't wait for this wedding reception. Our guests are going to be blown away!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thecopperdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Venice Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old Venice Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing