We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marine Room

Marine Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Marine Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 4,716 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: La Jolla Shores Drive
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great view and service”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a restaurant that's lasted for decades. Good (but classically old) atmosphere, with service and style maintained in 50's elegance. A little pricey in this day and age, but quality food. Best time is to watch the sunset from the picture windows. If you're looking to impress, go here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    108
    53
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Fabulous View with waves crashing on the windows!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

During San Diego's recent "Restaurant Week", my husband and I celebrated my 70th birthday at the Marine Room and it was the most wonderful experience. We had made reservations ahead via Open Table and they had reserved a terrific table at the window overlooking the La Jolla Beach and Pacific Ocean. We selected from the special Restaurant Week menu and everything we had was incredibly wonderful. I've been a professional chef myself and still do the cooking at an inn I own and I'm a real "foodie". I couldn't find one thing to criticize in the entire meal! The waiter was very pleasant and professional and the view was the best we've ever had at a restaurant. The Marine Room, aptly named, is right on the beach and at high tide each month, the waves actually come up and splash on the restaurant's windows! To top it all off, when we were finished with our main courses and the waiter brought the fantastic dessert, he said, "Stay as long as you like...the table is yours for the evening!" I've never had a waiter extend such an offer and even when other diners were still coming in!
I'll never forget this incredible birthday, thanks to the Marine Room!
Sandra, Innkeeper at Cliff Cottage Inn, Eureka Springs, AR

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InnkeeperSandra13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“True Romance”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Tis was my wife's and my second visit to The Marine Room. From the moment you arrive until the minute you leave you are treated to a true experience. Sitting, literally, ON the beach, with the water lapping at the windows, a jazz trio playing softly in the background and a complete list of wonderful food created by a renowned chef, lends itself to an evening you will not soon forget. Our waitress, Eleizabeth, was knowledgable, helpful and very personable making our experience a memorable one. A bit on the pricey side, but well worth the experience, food and expense. Would highly recommend The Marine Room.

Helpful?
Thank plinebaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
182 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Classic dining experience...”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Remember the good old days of fine dining as a memorable and special experience? Then this is one of those few and far between venues to have that special time. Food is excellent as is the wine selection. Service was professional, attentive, and sincerely dedicated to ensuring a fine dining experience. Situated on the beach, the waves wash the windows. Beautifully illuminated, the waves and shore life are constant animations. Decor is upscale but not uptight. From the valet to the busboy, everyone performed like a well-coordinated team to provide a consistent and continuous level of quality. Special night, won't forget. Don't miss out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danderyd, sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food and o wonderful location”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visit this gourmet restaurant several times during our weeks in La Jolla (from Sweden) every year in February. It is our absolute favourite among the many good ones in the area. They prepare all kinds of seafood in a fantastic way. You can taste the delicious creations in the bar during happy hour at a very reasonable price. You can also enjoy their 3 course menu in the restaurant. The restaurant is situated on the beach and you can sit close to the big windows and enjoy sunset. Sometimes dolphins play in the water just outside. We brought friends from the area, who also found the food excellent and we look forward to our next visit in 2014.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birgittawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marine Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing