We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to all the great reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Venetian

The Venetian
Reserve with OpenTable
The Venetian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #749 of 4,726 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Point Loma
Cross street: Chatsworth Blvd.
Description: The Venetian’s award-winning Italian cuisine (including what critics call some of San Diego’s best pizza), relaxed setting and casual atmosphere have earned generations of fans since Vince Giacalone first welcomed customers in 1965. Sons Joey and Frank proudly continue their family traditions, making sausage, soups and sauces from scratch and drawing a devoted, all-ages clientele. Highlights of the menu include bruschetta, seafood pastas, chicken and veal piccata, and thick- or thin-crust pizzas with either traditional or trendy toppings. Located in Point Loma, The Venetian’s friendly service and “Cheers” style vibe make it a favorite destination for date night, happy hour, dinner with friends or family celebrations. Seating includes the lively bar and patio (great for families and larger parties); comfy booths and banquettes; and a private wine cellar that can be reserved for parties of up to 16. Dinner nightly; lunch Monday-Friday; Sunday brunch; full bar.
Woodland Hills, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lived up to all the great reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

The food here was really wonderful and reasonably priced - huge portions. A hopping, comfortable place for a meal with good service.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kevnbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were told to park in the Bank parking lot and so we wound up entering through the kitchen. The Restaurant was more than half empty and no less than 8 waitpersons were standing around at the hostess stand - they can't give them some side work to do?

I had pesto, the worst pesto that I have ever had and my husband had penne with meat sauce that was very bland and thick! We also ordered a side of sausage because none of the dishes come with sausage in them and the sausage wasn't brought to the table when the entrees were, it was at least 10 mins. later. The side of sausage costs $4.45 for 3 links with a spoonful of spaghetti sauce on them and they were awful!! They were dry and looked like they had cooked them too long on a grill, not the way you are supposed to prepare Italian sausage.

There is absolutely nothing that would encourage me to go back again! The only good thing that I can say about the Venetian is that the butter is delicious!! No, really, they add some garlic and spices to it. But... the bread sucked, oh and the beer wasn't very cold either.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah022302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
158 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a high end restaurant, but the food and service can't be beat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 01dFo1ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent family restaurant off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were in San Diego for two nights and had dinner here based on the tripadvisor reviews. The food was wonderful, the waitstaff was super friendly and the vibe was laid back, family friendly neighborhood crowd. I had the pasta with white clam sauce and it was garlic heaven! I was glad we ventured out of the touristy areas and found this gem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank froggnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old Neighborhood Favorite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I've been here twice and have to say it's just okay. It's heavy and pretty bland. Their pizza is pretty good however.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Madelynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venetian also viewed

 

Been to The Venetian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing