We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First rate dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Venetian

The Venetian
Reserve with OpenTable
The Venetian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #747 of 4,543 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Point Loma
Cross street: Chatsworth Blvd.
Description: The Venetian’s award-winning Italian cuisine (including what critics call some of San Diego’s best pizza), relaxed setting and casual atmosphere have earned generations of fans since Vince Giacalone first welcomed customers in 1965. Sons Joey and Frank proudly continue their family traditions, making sausage, soups and sauces from scratch and drawing a devoted, all-ages clientele. Highlights of the menu include bruschetta, seafood pastas, chicken and veal piccata, and thick- or thin-crust pizzas with either traditional or trendy toppings. Located in Point Loma, The Venetian’s friendly service and “Cheers” style vibe make it a favorite destination for date night, happy hour, dinner with friends or family celebrations. Seating includes the lively bar and patio (great for families and larger parties); comfy booths and banquettes; and a private wine cellar that can be reserved for parties of up to 16. Dinner nightly; lunch Monday-Friday; Sunday brunch; full bar.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First rate dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Excellent entree, great service, nice atmosphere. I will be back again. Very reasonable prices too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DBA222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    20
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No tourists here except you and me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Per the other glowing recommendations, this neighborhood place delivers. My server was smart, attentive, and friendly. The veal parm was outstanding. The ceasar salad was fresh and tasty, with a lemon flavor to the dressing. Wine list could be a little better, but it has plenty of safe favorites. Only 5 minutes from the Sheraton Harbor Island/airport area, and an easy drive at that. It's kind of hard to believe that it's the #8 ranked place in San Diego, but there's no question most people leave the place rating it a full 5/excellent.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mdj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
229 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good shrimp scampi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I was in SD on business and read the reviews on trip advisor just like you are reading mine. I had the shrimp scampi and was good but the flavor was mild. If you are a cook and are picky you may want to order a meat dish here instead. I love shrimp so I ordered it. I like the one I make at home but the wine was great. It is pricey for basic Italian food.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fantastic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great family owned Italian restaurant My wife had Manicotti I had Veal Neal had a pizza Sheila had a shrimp dish all were great The owners were friendly and really seem to care about our experience

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Real Italian Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I went for dinner and we could have found a better SD Italian dining experience. It is a Point Loma local rest. with very good food, service and atmosphere. Not a touristy place and not formal, it has a great people feel with impressive italian menu. One of the few good SD Italian resturants. We had Liquini and clam sauce and chichen marsala. Ashley we a winner as a server. We loved it. Going back soon! You can tell the regulars love the place by their interactions with staff and each other. May be loud for picky people but it was a very enjoyable evening. E' stato molto bello.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdwardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venetian also viewed

 

Been to The Venetian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing